PrecipNet: Analysis and synthesis of precipitation and ecosystem change

Principal Investigators:

Michael E. Loik

The goal of the NCEAS PrecipNet Synthesis Group is to analyze and synthesize results of the effects of climate change on ecosystems. In particular, we will analyze data from studies on the effects of altered timing and magnitude of rain and snowfall across different ecosystems and geographic regions. Another important goal is to promote interdisciplinary research between natural and social scientists regarding the impacts of precipitation and ecosystem change and the interrelationships with human systems and institutions. Our meeting will result... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group21st—24th March 2002Participant List  
Working Group5th—7th September 2002Participant List  
Working Group21st—23rd March 2003Participant List  
Working Group12th—15th November 2003Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Jim Ehleringerehleringer@biology.utah.eduUniversity of Utah
Philip A. Faypfay@nrri.umn.eduKansas State University
Brent Haddadbhaddad@.ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
John Hartejharte@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Travis E. Huxmanhuxman@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Alan K. Knappaknapp@ksu.eduKansas State University
Guanghui Linglin@bio2.columbia.eduColumbia University, Biosphere Center
Michael E. Loikmloik@ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
William T. Pockmanpockman@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Susan Schwinningschwinn@ag.arizona.eduColumbia University, Biosphere Center
M. Rebecca Shawrshaw@edf.orgStanford University
Eric E. Smalleric.small@colorado.eduNew Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
Stanley D. Smithssmith@ccmail.nevada.eduUniversity of Nevada, Las Vegas
David T. Tissuedavid.tissue@ttu.eduTexas Tech University
Jake F. Weltzinjweltzin@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee
David G. Williamsdgw@ag.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
John C. ZakJohn.Zak@ttu.eduTexas Tech University
George W. Kochgeorge.koch@nau.eduNorthern Arizona University
David Barkerbarkerd@unlv.eduUniversity of Nevada, Las Vegas
Jessie Cablecableje@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Heath Grizzlehgriz@yahoo.comTexas Tech University
Susan Lambrechtlambs@ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Jennifer Nageljennifer.nagel@ttu.eduTexas Tech University
Lisa Patricklisa.patrick@ttu.eduTexas Tech University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Huxman, Travis E.; Smith, Melinda D.; Fay, Philip A.; Knapp, Alan K.; Shaw, M. Rebecca; Loik, Michael E.; Smith, Stanley D.; Tissue, David T.; Zak, John C.; Weltzin, Jake F.; Pockman, William T.; Sala, Osvaldo E.; Haddad, Brent; Harte, John; Koch, George W.; Schwinning, Susan; Small, Eric E.; Williams, David G. 2004. Convergence across biomes to a common rain-use efficiency. Nature. Vol: 429. Pages 651-654.
Data Set Loik, Michael E.; Huxman, Travis E. 2005. PrecipNet RUEmax assessment. (Online version)
Journal Article Weltzin, Jake F.; Loik, Michael E.; Schwinning, Susan; Williams, David G.; Fay, Philip A.; Haddad, Brent; Harte, John; Huxman, Travis E.; Knapp, Alan K.; Lin, Guanghui; Pockman, William T.; Shaw, M. Rebecca; Small, Eric E.; Smith, Melinda D.; Smith, Stanley D.; Tissue, David T.; Zak, John C. 2003. Assessing the response of terrestrial ecosystems to potential changes in precipitation. BioScience. Vol: 53(10). Pages 941-952. (Abstract)
"PrecipNet: Analysis and synthesis of precipitation and ecosystem change" is project ID: 4800