Analysis of diversity reduction experiments to address the ecosystem consequences of biodiversity loss

Principal Investigators:

Laura F. Huenneke, F. Stuart Chapin, and Sandra Diaz

A diversity reduction working group will examine the relationship between species diversity and ecosystem functioning in a wide range of natural and managed ecosystems. We will evaluate the results of field experiments in which species diversity and composition of plants, animals, and/or microbes have been reduced and ecosystem processes have been measured. We propose two approaches: (1) a meta-analysis of the species-removal literature and (2) a synthesis of comparative measurements to be made in ongoing species-removal experiments in a diverse... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group23rd—28th April 2002Participant List  
Working Group6th—8th September 2002Participant List  
Working Group26th—30th July 2004Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Syndonia Bret-Harteffmsb@uaf.eduUniversity of Alaska
Sandra Diazsdiaz@com.uncor.eduUniversidad Nacional de Córdoba, CONICET
Laura F. Huennekelaura.huenneke@nau.eduNew Mexico State University
Graham Kerleyzlagik@zoo.upe.ac.zaUniversity of Port Elizabeth
David Lightfootdlightfo@sevilleta.unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Kelly Lyonsklyons@trinity.edu
David Orwigorwig@fas.harvard.eduHarvard Forest
Debra Petersdebpeter@nmsu.eduUSDA Agricultural Research Service (ARS) Jornada Experimental Range
Molly Smithmsmith@nature.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Martin Solanm.solan@abdn.ac.ukUniversity of Aberdeen
Katharine N. Sudingsuding@berkeley.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Amy Symstadasymstad@usgs.govIllinois Natural History Survey
Robin Brookerrob.brooker@hutton.ac.ukNatural Environment Research Council (NERC)
Pedro Flombaumflombaum@ifeva.edu.arUniversidad de Buenos Aires
Diego Gurvichdgurvich@com.uncor.eduUniversidad Nacional de Córdoba, CONICET
Francisco Pugnairefip@eeza.csic.esConsejo Superior de Investigaciones Científicas (CSIC)
Osvaldo E. Salaosvaldo_sala@brown.eduUniversidad de Buenos Aires
Tristram Seidlert.seidler@imperial.ac.ukNERC Centre for Population Biology

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Analysis of diversity reduction experiments to address the ecosystem consequences of biodiversity loss" is project ID: 5200