Understanding the role of infectious disease in mammalian mating and social systems (Extended)

Principal Investigators:

Sonia Altizer, and Charles L. Nunn

Variation in animal mating and social behavior has important consequences for the origin and persistence of infectious diseases. These behavioral processes determine local host density and govern the type and frequency of contacts that occur within and among groups of animals. Ecologists have made great progress in understanding infectious disease dynamics operating on ecological time scales, yet next to nothing is known about patterns of disease at broad evolutionary scales. Given the increasing availability of information on socio-ecological parameters... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group1st—7th May 2003Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Sonia Altizersaltizer@uga.eduEmory University
Janis Antonovicsja8n@virginia.eduUniversity of Virginia
Andrew A. Cunninghamandrew.cunningham@ioz.ac.ukZoological Society of London
Peter Daszakdaszak@conservationmedicine.orgConsortium for Conservation Medicine
Andrew P. Dobsondobber@princeton.eduPrinceton University
Vanessa Ezenwavezenwa@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Andrew Fentonacf43@cam.ac.ukInstitute of Zoology, Zoological Society of London
Jenny Fulfordjenny.fulford@ioz.ac.ukInstitute of Zoology, Zoological Society of London
John L. Gittlemanecohead@uga.eduUniversity of Virginia
Kate E. Joneskate.jones@ioz.ac.ukUniversity of Virginia
Patrik LindenforsPatrik.Lindenfors@zoologi.su.seStockholm University
Charles L. Nunncnunn@oeb.harvard.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Nikki Patelpatel@conservationmedicine.orgConsortium for Conservation Medicine
Amy B. Pedersenabp@uga.eduUniversity of Virginia
Mary Possmposs@selway.umt.eduUniversity of Montana
Juliet Pulliampulliam@princeton.eduPrinceton University
Peter H. Thrallpeter.thrall@csiro.auCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Nick Vitonenvitone@LearnLink.Emory.EduEmory University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Understanding the role of infectious disease in mammalian mating and social systems (Extended)" is project ID: 6060