Analysis of long-term litter decomposition experiments: Synthesis at the site, regional, and global levels

Principal Investigators:

Mark Harmon

Although numerous short-term experiments have been used to develop conceptual and simulation models of decomposition, very little is known about the later stages of this process. Exclusion of this later stage has led, at best, to incomplete understanding of ecosystem carbon and nitrogen dynamics. We propose a working group to examine the wealth of litter and decomposition data that has been produced by several recent long-term field experiments. Our analysis will initially be based on data from LIDET (Long-term Intersite Decomposition Experiment... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group30th January—4th February 2004Participant List  
Working Group22nd—26th July 2004Participant List  
Working Group17th—19th March 2006Participant List  
Working Group27th—30th June 2006Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Ingrid C. Burkeindy@cnr.colostate.eduColorado State University
William S. Curriewcurrie@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Mark Harmonmark.harmon@oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Stephen C. Hartsteve.hart@nau.eduNorthern Arizona University
Mats Olssonmats.olsson@sml.slu.seSwedish University of Agricultural Sciences
William J. Partonbillp@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
James T. Randersonjranders@uci.eduUniversity of California, Irvine
Whendee L. Silverwsilver@nature.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Amy of Buenos Aires
Bjorn Bergbjorn.berg@helsinki.fiUniversity of Bayreuth
Kuo-chuan Forestry Research Institute
Jari Liskijari.liski@ymparisto.fiFinnish Environment Institute
Tony Trofymowttrofymow@pfc.forestry.caCanadian Forest Service
Elizabeth C. AdairCarol.Adair@uvm.eduUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
O. W. University
Elaine Matthewsematthews@giss.nasa.govNational Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
Vernon Meentemeyervmeente@uga.eduUniversity of Georgia
Carolyn Smythcsmyth@nrcan.gc.caNatural Resources Canada

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Adair, Elizabeth C.; Parton, William J.; Del Grosso, Stephen; Silver, Whendee L.; Harmon, Mark; Hall, Sonia A.; Burke, Ingrid C.; Hart, Stephen C. 2008. Simple three-pool model accurately describes patterns of long-term litter decomposition in diverse climates. Global Change Biology. Vol: 14. Pages 2636-2660.
Journal Article Bontti, Eliana E.; Decant, Joseph P.; Munson, Seth M.; Gathany, Mark A.; Przeszlowska, Agnieszka; Haddix, Michelle L.; Owens, Stephanie; Burke, Ingrid C.; Parton, William J.; Harmon, Mark. 2009. Litter decomposition in grasslands of Central North America (US Great Plains). Global Change Biology. Vol: 15. Pages 1356-1363.
Journal Article Currie, William S.; Harmon, Mark; Burke, Ingrid C.; Hart, Stephen C.; Parton, William J. 2010. Cross-biome transplants of plant litter show decomposition models extend to a broader climatic range but lose predictability at the decadal time scale. Global Change Biology. Vol: 16. Pages 1744-1761.
Journal Article Cusack, Daniela F.; Chou, Wendy W.; Yang, Wendy H.; Harmon, Mark; Silver, Whendee L.; Lidet. 2009. Controls on long-term root and leaf litter decomposition in neotropical forests. Global Change Biology. Vol: 15(5). Pages 1339-1355.
Data Set Harmon, Mark. 2006. Mass loss datafile and nitrogen concentration data. (Abstract) (Online version)
Data Set Harmon, Mark. 2007. Analysis of long-term litter decomposition experiments. (Abstract) (Online version)
Journal Article Harmon, Mark; Silver, Whendee L.; Fasth, Becky; Chen, Hua; Burke, Ingrid C.; Parton, William J.; Hart, Stephen C.; Currie, William S. 2009. Long-term patterns of mass loss during the decomposition of leaf and fine root litter: An intersite comparison. Global Change Biology. Vol: 15. Pages 1320-1338.
Journal Article Parton, William J.; Silver, Whendee L.; Burke, Ingrid C.; Grassens, Leo; Harmon, Mark; Currie, William S.; King, Jennifer; Adair, Elizabeth C.; Brandt, Leslie A.; Hart, Stephen C.; Fasth, Becky. 2007. Global-scale similarities in nitrogen release patterns during long-term decomposition. Science. Vol: 315. Pages 361-364.
Journal Article Tuomi, Mikko; Thum, Tea; Jarvinen, Heikki; Fronzek, Stefan; Berg, Bjorn; Harmon, Mark; Trofymow, J.A.; Sevanto, Sanna; Liski, Jari. 2009. Leaf litter decomposition-Estimates of global variability based on Yasso07 model. Ecological Modelling. Vol: 220(23). Pages 3362-3371.
"Analysis of long-term litter decomposition experiments: Synthesis at the site, regional, and global levels" is project ID: 6840