Linking marine biodiversity to ecosystem functions and services

Principal Investigators:

Boris Worm, and Enric Sala

Biodiversity, or biological diversity, is the variation of life at all levels of organization, from the level of genetic variation within and among species to the level of variation within and among communities, ecosystems and biomes. It is well-documented how human impacts are changing biodiversity in terrestrial (Wilson 1999) and marine ecosystems (NRC 1995). Historical studies in marine systems have further shown that long-term impacts often lead to the simplification of food webs, as species and species groups are driven to such low abundances... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group22nd—27th November 2003Participant List  
Working Group7th—11th May 2004Participant List  
Graduate Student1st June—15th September 2004Participant List  
Working Group18th—22nd November 2004Participant List  
Working Group17th—20th February 2006Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Nancy Baronnbaron@compassonline.orgSeaWeb/COMPASS
Nicola Beaumontnijb@pml.ac.ukPlymouth Marine Laboratory
J. Emmett Duffyjeduffy@vims.eduVirginia Institute of Marine Science
Carl Folkecarl.folke@beijer.kva.seStockholm University
Jeremy B.C. Jacksonjeremybcjackson@gmail.comUniversity of California, San Diego
Heike K. Lotzeheike.lotze@dal.caKiel University
Fiorenza Michelimicheli@stanford.eduStanford University
Nyawira Muthiganmuthiga@wcs.orgKenya Wildlife Service
Stephen R. Palumbispalumbi@stanford.eduStanford University
Enric Salaesala@coast.ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
John J. Stachowiczjjstachowicz@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Boris Wormbworm@dal.caKiel University
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kimberly A. Selkoeselkoe@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Reg Watsonr.watson@fisheries.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Edward B. Barbierebarbier@uwyo.eduUniversity of Wyoming
Andreas Schmittneraschmittner@coas.oregonstate.eduOregon State University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Duffy, J. Emmett. 2006. Biodiversity and the functioning of seagrass ecosystems. Marine Ecology-Progress Series. Vol: 311. Pages 233-250.
Journal Article Duffy, J. Emmett; Stachowicz, John J. 2006. Why biodiversity is important to oceanography: potential roles of genetic, species, and trophic diversity in pelagic ecosystem processes. Marine Ecology-Progress Series. Vol: 311. Pages 179-189.
Data Set Halpern, Benjamin S. 2008. MPA data on ecosystem services. (Online version)
Journal Article Micheli, Fiorenza; Halpern, Benjamin S. 2005. Low functional redundancy in coastal marine assemblages. Ecology Letters. Vol: 8(4). Pages 391-400.
Presentations Micheli, Fiorenza; Halpern, Benjamin S. 2005. Recovery of trophic diversity and ecosystem functioning in marine protected areas. Joint Annual Meeting of the Ecological Society of America (ESA) and International Society for Ecology (INTECOL), August 2005. Montreal, Canada.
Data Set Micheli, Fiorenza; Halpern, Benjamin S. 2006. Summary table of marine protected areas. (Abstract) (Online version)
Journal Article Worm, Boris; Barbier, Edward B.; Beaumont, Nicola; Duffy, J. Emmett; Folke, Carl; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Jackson, Jeremy B.C.; Lotze, Heike K.; Micheli, Fiorenza; Palumbi, Stephen R.; Sala, Enric; Selkoe, Kimberly A.; Stachowicz, John J.; Watson, Reg. 2006. Impacts of biodiversity loss on ocean ecosystem services. Science. Vol: 314. Pages 787-790.
Data Set Worm, Boris. 2006. Impacts of biodiversity loss on ocean ecosystem services data. (Online version)
Journal Article Worm, Boris; Barbier, Edward B.; Beaumont, Nicola; Duffy, J. Emmett; Folke, Carl; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Jackson, Jeremy B.C.; Lotze, Heike K.; Micheli, Fiorenza; Palumbi, Stephen R.; Sala, Enric; Selkoe, Kimberly A.; Stachowicz, John J.; Watson, Reg. 2007. Biodiversity loss in the ocean: How bad is it? Response. Science. Vol: 316. Pages 1282-1284.
Journal Article Worm, Boris; Barbier, Edward B.; Beaumont, Nicola; Duffy, J. Emmett; Folke, Carl; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Jackson, Jeremy B.C.; Lotze, Heike K.; Micheli, Fiorenza; Palumbi, Stephen R.; Sala, Enric; Selkoe, Kimberly A.; Stachowicz, John J.; Watson, Reg. 2007. Response to comments on Impacts of biodiversity loss on ocean ecosystem services. Science. Vol: 316. Pages 1285.
"Linking marine biodiversity to ecosystem functions and services" is project ID: 6860