Seasonality and the population dynamics of infectious diseases

Principal Investigators:

Mercedes Pascual, and Andrew P. Dobson

Seasonal variation takes many forms in the natural world. All of us notice the annual cycles in temperature, day length, and rainfall, and these have profound effects on rates of resource production and availability that plants and animals respond to in order to modify their reproduction and maintenance schedules. These regular cycles impose constraints and create opportunities for transmission of infectious diseases. Humans also superimpose seasonal processes onto their lives in a way that creates opportunities for infectious diseases; for example... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group2nd—5th October 2003Participant List  
Working Group26th—29th April 2004Participant List  
Working Group14th—19th October 2004Participant List  
Working Group2nd—8th June 2005Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Sonia Altizersaltizer@uga.eduEmory University
Ottar N. Bjornstadonb1@psu.eduPennsylvania State University
Isabella Cattadoriimc3@psu.eduUniversity of Stirling
Giulio De Leodeleo@stanford.edu
Andrew P. Dobsondobber@princeton.eduPrinceton University
Parviez R. Hosseinihosseini@princeton.eduCornell University
Peter J. Hudsonpjh18@psu.eduPennsylvania State University
Bruce E. Kendallkendall@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Aaron A. Kingkingaa@umich.eduUniversity of Tennessee
Katia Koellekatia.koelle@duke.eduUniversity of Michigan
Subhash R. Leleslele@ualberta.caUniversity of Alberta
Mercedes Pascualpascual@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Xavier Rodoxrodo@pcb.ub.esUniversity of Barcelona
Pejman Rohanirohani@umich.eduUniversity of Georgia
Akiko Satakeasatake@princeton.eduPennsylvania State University
David Alonsod.alonso@rug.nlUniversity of Michigan
Claudia Codecocodeco@fiocruz.brFIOCRUZ Oswaldo Cruz Foundation
Bryan T. Grenfellgrenfell@princeton.eduUniversity of Cambridge

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Altizer, Sonia; Dobson, Andrew P.; Hosseini, Parviez R.; Hudson, Peter J.; Pascual, Mercedes; Rohani, Pejman. 2006. Seasonality and the dynamics of infectious diseases. Ecology Letters. Vol: 9. Pages 467-484.
Journal Article Bolzoni, Luca; Dobson, Andrew P.; Gatto, Marino; De Leo, Giulio. 2008. Allometric scaling and seasonality in the epidemics of wildlife diseases. American Naturalist. Vol: 172(6). Pages 818-828. (Online version)
Journal Article Cattadori, Isabella; Boag, B.; Bjornstad, Ottar N.; Cornell, S. J.; Hudson, Peter J. 2005. Peak shift and epidemiology in a seasonal host-nematode system. Proceedings of the Royal Society B-Biological Sciences. Vol: 272. Pages 1163-1169.
Journal Article Hosseini, Parviez R.; Dhondt, Andre A.; Dobson, Andrew P. 2004. Seasonality and wildlife disease: How seasonal birth, aggregation and variation in immunity affect the dynamics of Mycoplasma gallisepticum in house finches. Proceedings of the Royal Society B-Biological Sciences. Vol: 271. Pages 2569-2577.
Presentations King, Aaron A. 2005. Linking mechanistic models with epidemiological data: Parameter estimation in the face of incomplete information. SIAM Conference on Applications of Dynamical Systems, 26 May 2005. Snowbird, UT.
Presentations King, Aaron A. 2005. Linking mechanistic models with epidemiological data: Parameter estimation in the face of incomplete information. ESA Annual Meeting Theory Symposium. Montreal, California.
Journal Article Koelle, Katia; Pascual, Mercedes; Yunus, Md. 2005. Pathogen adaptation to seasonal forcing and climate change. Proceedings of the Royal Society B-Biological Sciences. Vol: 272. Pages 971-977.
Presentations Koelle, Katia; Pascual, Mercedes; Yunus, Md. 2005. What goes around comes around: Serotype cycling in cholera dynamics. ESA Annual Meeting. Montreal, California.
Journal Article Pascual, Mercedes; Dobson, Andrew P. 2005. Seasonal patterns of infectious diseases. PLoS Medicine. Vol: 2(1). Pages 18-20.
"Seasonality and the population dynamics of infectious diseases" is project ID: 6881