Coastal Reserves (Hosted by NCEAS)

Principal Investigators:

Frank W. Davis

Systematic conservation planning in marine environments has generally operated independently of land conservation planning, despite potentially strong coupling between land use, watershed processes, and coastal riverine, estuarine and marine ecosystems. There is increasing recognition of the impacts of human activities in the coastal zone and the need for conservation policy and design of coastal management systems to account for these impacts. The goal of the working group, with funding from the Resources Legacy Fund, is to identify key principles... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Meeting8th—8th September 2003Participant List  
Meeting14th—16th June 2004Participant List  
Meeting27th—28th September 2004Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Nancy Burnettalison@seastudios.comDavid and Lucile Packard Foundation
Mark H. Carrcarr@biology.ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Frank W. Davisfrank.davis@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Thomas Dunnetdunne@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Steven D. Gainesgaines@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Barry D. and Lucile Packard Foundation
Jim Leapejleape@packard.orgDavid and Lucile Packard Foundation
John M. Melackmelack@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Gail Osherenkoosherenko@msi.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Stephen R. Palumbispalumbi@stanford.eduStanford University
Peter Raimondiraimondi@biology.ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
O. J. Reichmanojreichman@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Natalie Senyknatalie.senyk@noaa.govUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michael Suttonmsutton@packard.orgDavid and Lucile Packard Foundation
John N. Thompsonthompson@biology.ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Robert R. Warnerwarner@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Sandy J. Andelmansandelman@conservation.orgUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Bernardo R. Broitmanbernardo.broitman@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Dennis H. GrossmanNatureServe/Association for Biodiversity Information
Rainer Hoenickerainer@sfei.orgSan Francisco Estuary Institute
Scott Leibowitzleibowitz.scott@epa.govUnknown
Al Leydeckeral.leydecker@cox.netUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Sylvia Linggi-Trooststroost@resourceslawgroup.comResources Law Group, LLP
Elizabeth M.P. Madinmadin@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michael Mantellmmantell@resourceslawgroup.comResources Law Group, LLP
Mary E. Powermepower@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Scott Rehmussrehmus@packard.orgDavid and Lucile Packard Foundation
Enric Salaesala@coast.ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
David M. Stomsstoms@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Heather Tallishtallis@tnc.orgUniversity of Washington
Cinamon Vannvann@biology.ucsc.eduResources Law Group, LLP
Pete Adamspete.adams@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Michael W. Beckmbeck@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Kara Blakesleekara@alcnet.orgAmerican Land Conservancy
Mark Borchertborchert@silcom.comUSDA Forest Service
Ross Coastal Commission
Chris Coburnchris.coburn@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Sanctuary Monterey Bay
Robin Coxrcox@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Susan P. Harrisonspharrison@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Laird Henkellhenkel@harveyecology.comH.T. Harvey and Associates Ecological Consultants
Chad Kingchad.king@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Sanctuary Monterey Bay
Steve Lonhartsteve.lonhart@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Sanctuary Monterey Bay
Marc Los Huertosmarcos@ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Terri Coastal Conservancy
Dennis Odiondennisodion@charter.netOdion Consulting
Dan C. Reedreed@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Rick Starrstarr@mlml.calstate.eduUniversity of California Sea Grant Extension Program
Mark Strombergstromberg@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Michael Environmental Protection Agency
Dean E. Wendtdwendt@calpoly.eduCalifornia Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Report or White Paper Davis, Frank W. 2004. Integrated conservation planning in coastal environments with special reference to California's Central Coast. Final Report to the Resources Legacy Fund. Sacramento, California.
Journal Article Stoms, David M.; Davis, Frank W.; Andelman, Sandy J.; Carr, Mark H.; Gaines, Steven D.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Hoenicke, Rainer; Leibowitz, Scott; Leydecker, Al; Madin, Elizabeth M.P.; Tallis, Heather; Warner, Robert R. 2005. Integrated coastal reserve planning: Making the land-sea connection. Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment. Vol: 3(8). Pages 429-436.
"Coastal Reserves (Hosted by NCEAS)" is project ID: 7740