Analyzing pattern and process in human cultural diversity

Principal Investigators:

Michael E. Hochberg

A major challenge for ecology is to understand the role of humans in the future of life on Earth. Meeting this challenge is a tremendous and, in many ways, obscure enterprise because our species is extraordinarily complex and rapidly changing, and since assessing many aspects of human biology is fraught with social taboos and political impediments. Answers from the ecological sciences will form a small, but important part of the corpus. If we are willing to accept the analogy that humanity is comprised of an ensemble of communities, then many of... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group20th May—2nd June 2004Participant List  
Working Group13th—17th December 2004Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Howard V. Cornellhvcornell@ucdavis.eduUniversity of Delaware
Jean-Francois Gueganjf.guegan@mpl.ird.frLaboratoire de Génétique et Evolution des Maladies Infectieuses (GEMI) UMR CNRS-IRD 2724
Michael E. Hochbergmhochber@univ-montp2.frUniversité de Montpellier II
Kevin D. Laffertylafferty@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Daniel of Newcastle
Karthik Panchanathanbuddha@ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Marc Choisychoisy@mpl.ird.frCentre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)
Paul Zakpaul.zak@cgu.eduClaremont Graduate University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Lafferty, Kevin D. 2006. Can the common brain parasite, Toxoplasma gondii, influence human culture?. Proceedings of the Royal Society B-Biological Sciences. Vol: online. Pages doi:10.1098/rspb.2006.3641.
Journal Article Nettle, Daniel; Grace, James B.; Choisy, Marc; Cornell, Howard V.; Guegan, Jean-Francois; Hochberg, Michael E. 2007. Cultural diversity, economic development and societal instability. PLoS ONE. Vol: 2(9). Pages e929.
"Analyzing pattern and process in human cultural diversity" is project ID: 7760