Spatial and temporal community dynamics: Sharing data to answer questions

Principal Investigators:

Jeff Houlahan, David J. Currie, and C. Scott Findlay

General ecological principles can, by definition, only be derived from studies that span multiple taxa, geographic areas, and time periods. Such a broad research agenda implies data-sharing among many researchers from diverse geographic regions. Many of the technological barriers to data-sharing have been and are being addressed but there still exist many sociological obstacles to data-sharing because researchers are often, understandably, reluctant to share hard-won datasets. We propose to identify the key barriers to data-sharing and provide... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group16th—20th February 2004Participant List  
Working Group30th August—2nd September 2004Participant List  
Working Group23rd—27th May 2005Participant List  
Working Group11th—14th June 2006Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

James H. Brownjhbrown@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Graeme Cummingcummingg@wec.ufl.eduUniversity of Florida
David J. Curriedcurrie@uOttawa.caUniversity of Ottawa
S. K. Morgan Ernestmorgane@biology.usu.eduUniversity of New Mexico
C. Scott Findlaysfindlay@science.uottawa.caUniversity of Ottawa
Samuel D. Fuhlendorfsam.fuhlendorf@okstate.eduOklahoma State University
Jeff Houlahanjeffhoul@unbsj.caUniversity of New Brunswick, Saint John
Pierre Legendrepierre.legendre@umontreal.caUniversité de Montréal
John Magnusonjjmagnus@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin, Madison
Esteban Muldavinmuldavin@sevilleta.unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
David Nobledavid.noble@bto.orgBritish Trust for Ornithology
Peter Raimondiraimondi@biology.ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Carmen Rojocarmen.rojo@uv.esUniversitat de Valencia
Roly Russellrolyrussell@gmail.comOregon State University
David Tilmantilman@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Ian Research
Steve Wondzellswondzell@fs.fed.usPacific Northwest Research Station
Karl Cotteniecottenie@uoguelph.caUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Ursula Gaedkegaedke@rz.uni-potsdam.deUniversitat Potsdam
Richard D. Stevensrstevens@lsu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Theodore Willistheowillis@zoo.utoronto.caUniversity of Toronto
Brian of Auckland

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProduct of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Houlahan, Jeff; Currie, David J.; Cumming, Graeme; Ernest, S. K. Morgan; Findlay, C. Scott; Fuhlendorf, Samuel D.; Gaedke, Ursula; Legendre, Pierre; Magnuson, John; McArdle, Brian; Muldavin, Esteban; Noble, David; Russell, Roly; Stevens, Richard D.; Willis, Theodore; Woiwod, Ian; Wondzell, Steve. 2007. Compensatory dynamics are rare in natural ecological communities. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Vol: 104(9). Pages 3273-3277.
"Spatial and temporal community dynamics: Sharing data to answer questions" is project ID: 7940