Can we now determine if, when, and how microbial community composition impacts ecosystem processes? Will that understanding yield critical new information about ecosystem function and response to change?

Principal Investigators:

Joshua P. Schimel

Linking populations and process dynamics has been a major thrust in ecology for the last decade or more. This issue has been a concern in microbial ecology, but linking microbial community dynamics with ecosystem scale processes has been a major challenge. There remains debate as to whether any such linkages really exist, though there are theories about which processes should be sensitive to community composition and there have been a number of individual studies that support these theories. There has not, however, been any broad and effective synthesis... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group24th—26th February 2004Participant List  
Working Group28th—31st October 2004Participant List  
Working Group17th—19th March 2005Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Michael F. Allenmichael.allen@ucr.eduSan Diego State University
Brendan J.M. Bohannanbohannan@uoregon.eduStanford University
Mary Firestonemkfstone@nature.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Jason C. Neffneffjc@colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado
Joshua P. Schimelschimel@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Robert Sinsabaughrlsinsab@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Kathleen Tresedertreseder@uci.eduUniversity of California, Irvine
Corey Lawrencecorey.lawrence@colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Daryl Moorheaddaryl.moorhead@utoledo.eduUniversity of Toledo

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Can we now determine if, when, and how microbial community composition impacts ecosystem processes? Will that understanding yield critical new information about ecosystem function and response to change?" is project ID: 7981