The roles of natural enemies and mutualists in plant invasions

Principal Investigators:

Charles E. Mitchell, and Alison G. Power

Invasive plant species both threaten native biodiversity and are economically costly (OTA 1993, Williamson 1996, Wilcove et al. 1998, Mack et al. 2000, Pimentel 2002). Recent results (Mitchell and Power 2003) suggest that invasive plants become widespread problems, in part, because they are released from attack by pathogens relative to their native range. However, the roles of herbivores and mutualists in plant invasions remain controversial (Maron and Vila 2001, Keane and Crawley 2002, Agrawal and Kotanen 2003), and the potential for interactive... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group20th—24th April 2004Participant List  
Working Group13th—17th December 2004Participant List  
Working Group10th—14th May 2005Participant List  
Working Group10th—12th October 2005Participant List  
Working Group10th—13th July 2006Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Anurag A. Agrawalaa337@cornell.eduUniversity of Toronto
James D. Beverjbever@bio.indiana.eduIndiana University
Ragan Callawayray.callaway@mso.umt.eduUniversity of Montana
Gregory S. Gilbertggilbert@ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Peter Kareivapkareiva@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
John N. Klironomosjohn.klironomos@ubc.caUniversity of Guelph
John L. Maronjohn.maron@mso.umt.eduUniversity of Montana
Charles E. Mitchellmitchell@bio.unc.eduCornell University
William F. Morriswfmorris@duke.eduDuke University
Ingrid M. Parkerparker@biology.ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Alison G. Poweragp4@cornell.eduCornell University
Eric Seabloomseabloom@umn.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Mark E. Torchintorchinm@si.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Diego P. Vazquezdvazquez@lab.cricyt.edu.arUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Ruth A. Hufbauerhufbauer@lamar.colostate.eduColorado State University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Book Chapter Hufbauer, Ruth A.; Torchin, Mark E. 2007. Integrating ecological and evolutionary theory of biological invasions. Biological Invasions: Ecological Studies. Vol: 193. Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg. Pages 79-96.
Journal Article Mitchell, Charles E.; Agrawal, Anurag A.; Bever, James D.; Gilbert, Gregory S.; Hufbauer, Ruth A.; Klironomos, John N.; Maron, John L.; Morris, William F.; Parker, Ingrid M.; Power, Alison G.; Seabloom, Eric; Torchin, Mark E.; Vazquez, Diego P. 2006. Biotic interactions and plant invasions. Ecology Letters. Vol: 9. Pages 726-740.
Journal Article Morris, William F.; Hufbauer, Ruth A.; Agrawal, Anurag A.; Bever, James D.; Borowicz, Victoria A.; Gilbert, Gregory S.; Maron, John L.; Mitchell, Charles E.; Parker, Ingrid M.; Power, Alison G.; Torchin, Mark E.; Vazquez, Diego P. 2007. Direct and interactive effects of enemies and mutualists on plant performance: A meta-analysis. Ecology. Vol: 88(4). Pages 1021-1029.
Journal Article Seabloom, Eric; Williams, John W.; Slayback, Daniel; Stoms, David M.; Viers, Joshua H.; Dobson, Andrew P. 2006. Human impacts, plant invasion, and imperiled, plant species in California. Ecological Applications. Vol: 16(4). Pages 1338-1350.
"The roles of natural enemies and mutualists in plant invasions" is project ID: 8020