Exotic species: A source of insight into ecology, evolution, and biogeography

Principal Investigators:

Dov F. Sax, Steven D. Gaines, and John J. Stachowicz

Exotic species pose a serious threat to the structure and function of native ecosystems and cause significant economic damage. In spite of these costs, exotic species present unique opportunities to advance our conceptual understanding of ecological patterns and processes. By using exotic species as a vast array of natural experiments we can address questions at scales that would otherwise be non-experimental, and we can observe processes that have occurred repeatedly in the past, but that have previously gone unrecorded. Indeed exotic species may... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group14th—17th March 2004Participant List  
Working Group17th—20th January 2005Participant List  
Working Group16th—20th October 2005Participant List  
Working Group25th—27th September 2006Participant List  
Working Group10th—12th September 2007Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Tim M. Blackburntim.blackburn@ioz.ac.ukUniversity of Birmingham
James H. Brownjhbrown@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
John F. Brunojbruno@unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Phillip Casseyphill.cassey@adelaide.edu.auUniversity of Birmingham
Carla M. D'Antoniodantonio@es.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Mark Davisdavis@macalester.eduMacalester College
Steven D. Gainesgaines@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Richard K. Grosbergrkgrosberg@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Alan Hastingsamhastings@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Robert D. Holtrdholt@ufl.eduUniversity of Florida
A. (Anne) Randall Hughesrhughes@neu.edu
Kevin D. Laffertylafferty@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Julie L. Lockwoodlockwood@aesop.rutgers.eduState University of New Jersey, Rutgers
Richard N. Mackrmack@wsu.eduWashington State University
Pablo A. Marquetpmarquet@bio.puc.clPontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
Robin PelcRPelc@mbayaq.orgUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
William R. Ricerice@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Robert E. Ricklefsricklefs@umsl.eduUniversity of Missouri, St. Louis
Dov F. SaxDov_Sax@brown.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Eric Seabloomseabloom@umn.edu
John J. Stachowiczjjstachowicz@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
David Tilmantilman@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
John P. Waresjpwares@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Mary I. O'Connoroconnor@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of North Carolina
Margaret M. Mayfieldm.mayfield@uq.edu.auUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Lisa Needlesneedles@lifesci.ucsb.eduCalifornia Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Stephen J. Novaksnovak@boisestate.eduBoise State University
Mark Vellendmvellend@mail.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Michael N. Dawsonmdawson@ucmerced.eduUnknown
Kyle Edwardskedwards@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Matt Heardheard.m@gmail.comBrown University
Sarah C. Leesclee@unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Jonathan B. Shurinjshurin@ucsd.eduUniversity of British Columbia

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Arim, Matias; Abades, Sebastian R.; Neill, Paula; Lima, Mauricio; Marquet, Pablo A. 2006. Spread dynamics of invasive species. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Vol: 103. Pages 374-378.
Book Chapter Blackburn, Tim M.; Gaston, Kevin J. 2005. Biological invasions and the loss of birds on islands: Insights into the idiosyncrasies of extinction. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 85-110.
Book Chapter Bruno, John F.; Fridley, Jason; Bromberg, Keryn D.; Bertness, Mark D. 2005. Insights into biotic interactions from studies of species invasions. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 13-40.
Book Chapter Cassey, Phillip. 2005. Insights into ecology. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 9-12.
Journal Article Cassey, Phillip; Blackburn, Julie; Lockwood, Julie L.; Sax, Dov F. 2006. A stochastic model for integrating changes in species richness and community similarity across spatial scales . Oikos. Vol: 115. Pages 207-218.
Book Chapter D'Antonio, Carla M.; Hobbie, Sarah E. 2005. Plant species effects on ecosystem processes: Insights from invasive species. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 65-84.
Book Chapter Holt, Robert D.; Barfield, M.; Gomulkiewicz, Richard. 2005. Theories of niche conservatism and evolution: Could exotic species be potential tests?. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachosicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 259-290.
Book Chapter Kinlan, Brian P.; Hastings, Alan. 2005. Rates of population spread and geographic range expansion: What exotic species tells us. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 381-419.
Book Chapter Labra, Fabio A.; Abades, Sebastian R.; Marquet, Pablo A. 2005. Distribution and abundance: Scaling patterns in exotic and native bird species. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 421-446.
Book Chapter Lafferty, Kevin D.; Smith, Katherine F.; Torchin, Mark E.; Dobson, Andrew P.; Kuris, Armand. 2005. The role of infectious diseases in natural communities: What introduced species tell us. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 111-134.
Book Chapter Lockwood, Julie L. 2005. Insights into biogeography. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 309-313.
Book Chapter McKinney, Michael L.; Lockwood, Julie L. 2005. Community composition and homogenization: Evenness and abundance of native and exotic plant species. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 365-380.
Book Chapter Novak, Stephen J.; Mack, Richard N. 2005. Genetic bottlenecks in alien plant species: Influence of mating systems and introduction dynamics. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 201-228.
Book Chapter Rice, William R.; Sax, Dov F. 2005. Testing fundamental evolutionary questions at large spatial and demographic scales: Species invasions as an underappreciated tool. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 291-308.
Book Chapter Ricklefs, Robert E. 2005. Taxon cycles: Insights from invasive species. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 165-199.
Book Chapter Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D. 2005. Capstone: Where do we go from here?. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 467-480.
Book Chapter Sax, Dov F.; Gaines, Steven D.; Stachowicz, John J. 2005. Introduction. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 1-7.
Book Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D. 2005. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 495.
Book Chapter Sax, Dov F.; Brown, James H.; White, Ethan; Gaines, Steven D. 2005. The dynamics of species invasions: Insights into the mechanisms that limit species diversity. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 447-465.
Journal Article Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Brown, James H.; Bruno, John F.; Dawson, Michael N.; Gaines, Steven D.; Grosberg, Richard K.; Hastings, Alan; Holt, Robert D.; Mayfield, Margaret M.; O'Connor, Mary I.; Rice, William R. 2007. Ecological and evolutionary insights from species invasions. Trends in Ecology & Evolution. Vol: 22(9). Pages 465-471.
Journal Article Sax, Dov F.; Gaines, Steven D. 2008. Species invasions and extinction: The future of native biodiversity on islands. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Vol: 105 (1). Pages 11490-11497.
Book Chapter Stachowicz, John J.; Tilman, David. 2005. Species invasions and the relationships between species diversity, community saturation, and ecosystem functioning. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 41-64.
Book Chapter Vellend, Mark; Hughes, A. (Anne) Randall; Grosberg, Richard K.; Holt, Robert D. 2005. Insights into evolution. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 135-137.
Journal Article Vellend, Mark; Harmon, Luke J.; Lockwood, Julie L.; Mayfield, Margaret M.; Hughes, A. (Anne) Randall; Wares, John P.; Sax, Dov F. 2007. Effects of exotic species on evolutionary diversification. Trends in Ecology & Evolution. Vol: 22(9). Pages 481-488.
Book Chapter Wares, John P.; Hughes, A. (Anne) Randall; Grosberg, Richard K. 2005. Mechanisms to drive evolutionary change: Insights from species introductions and invasions. Edited by Sax, Dov F.; Stachowicz, John J.; Gaines, Steven D.. Species Invasions: Insights into Ecology, Evolution, and Biogeography. Sinauer Associates, Inc.. Sunderland, Massachusetts. Pages 229-257.
"Exotic species: A source of insight into ecology, evolution, and biogeography" is project ID: 8041