Understanding, valuing, and managing dynamic ecosystem services under stress: Synthesizing across the LTER Network

Principal Investigators:

Stephen Farber, and Robert Costanza

This project utilizes the LTER site network to develop understanding of the biogeophysical dynamics in stressed ecosystems and the implications of those dynamics for the valuation and management of ecosystem services and underlying ecological support systems. It uses a variety of LTER sites, in different ecological and economic contexts but all subject to existing or potential human stressors. It addresses the appropriateness of valuation methods, how valuations can be transferred among different contexts, and how databases can be developed consistently... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group25th June—2nd July 2004Participant List  
Working Group20th—25th June 2005Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Daniel L. Childersdan.childers@asu.eduFlorida International University
Robert Costanzarobert.costanza@anu.edu.auUniversity of Vermont
Jon D. Ericksonjon.erickson@uvm.eduUniversity of Vermont
Stephen FarberUniversity of Pittsburgh
Katherine L. Grosskgross@kbs.msu.eduMichigan State University
J. Morgan Grovemgrove@fs.fed.usUSDA Forest Service
Chuck Hopkinsonchopkins@mbl.eduMarine Biological Laboratory
James R. Kahnkahnj@wlu.eduWashington and Lee University
Stephanie Pincetlspincetl@ioe.ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Austin Troyatroy@uvm.eduUniversity of Vermont
Paige S. Warrenpswarren@eco.umass.eduVirginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Matthew A. Wilsonwilson@bsad.uvm.eduUniversity of Vermont
Patrick Gibsongibsonp@fiu.eduFlorida International University
David Iwanieciwaniecd@fiu.eduFlorida International University
Summer Morlocksummer.morlock@noaa.govUniversity of Washington
Kathryn Stanawaykathryn.stanaway@fiu.eduFlorida International University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Farber, Stephen; Costanza, Robert; Childers, Daniel L.; Erickson, Jon D.; Gross, Katherine L.; Grove, J. Morgan; Hopkinson, Chuck; Kahn, James R.; Pincetl, Stephanie; Troy, Austin; Warren, Paige S.; Wilson, Matthew A. 2006. Linking ecology and economics for ecosystem management. BioScience. Vol: 56(2). Pages 117-129.
Report or White Paper Farber, Stephen. An ecosystem services framework linking science, values and environmental decision-making.
Journal Article Pincetl, Stephanie. 2007. From the sanitary city of the twentieth century to the sustainable city of the twenty-first. PLACES. Vol: 19(1). Pages 59-61.
"Understanding, valuing, and managing dynamic ecosystem services under stress: Synthesizing across the LTER Network" is project ID: 8060