Lianas and tropical forest dynamics: Synthesis of Pan-tropical patterns from regional data sets

Principal Investigators:

Stefan A. Schnitzer, and Robyn J. Burnham

Lianas (woody vines) are an important component in tropical forest dynamics, altering forest regeneration, species diversity and ecosystem-level processes such as carbon sequestration. Recently, the study of liana ecology has increased substantially throughout the tropics; however, methods for collecting liana data are only rarely consistent and there is little comparability in liana abundance, biomass, diversity, composition, or community dynamics across large areas of the tropics. Until these data sets are combined and synthesized, many large-scale... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group13th—17th February 2005Participant List  
Working Group23rd—27th April 2006Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Frans Bongersfrans.bongers@wur.nlWageningen University
Robyn J. Burnhamrburnham@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Jérôme Chavechave@cict.frUniversité Paul Sabatier
Saara J. DeWaltsaarad@clemson.eduRice University
Corneille E.N. Ewangoewango_corneille@yahoo.comUniversity of Missouri, St. Louis
Robin Fosterfoster@fieldmuseum.orgField Museum
Jeffrey J. Gerwingjgerwing@pdx.eduPortland State University
Jean-Remy Makanajr_makana@yahoo.frWildlife Conservation Society
Miguel Martinez-Ramosmiguel.martinez@oikos.unam.mxUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Helene C. Muller-Landauhmuller@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Parthasarathy Narayanaswamyparthapu@yahoo.comPondicherry University
Marc Parrenmarcparren@hq.feghana.comUniversity of Professional Education Larenstein
Diego Perez Salicrupdiego@oikos.unam.mxUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Francis E. Putzfep@ufl.eduUniversity of Florida
Stefan A. Schnitzers1@uwm.eduUniversity of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
Duncan Thomasduncanwt@gmail.comSmithsonian Tropical Research Institute
David Clarkdbclark@sloth.ots.ac.crOrganization for Tropical Studies
Paul V. A. Finepaulfine@berkeley.eduUniversity of Michigan
David Kenfackdavid.kenfack@mobot.orgUniversity of Missouri
Lucia Lohmannllohmann@usp.brUniversidade de São Paulo
Hugo Romero Saltoshgromero@puce.edu.ecPontificia Universidad Católica del Ecuador
Campbell O. Webbcwebb@oeb.harvard.eduHarvard University Indonesia Program

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article DeWalt, Saara J.; Schnitzer, Stefan A.; Chave, Jérôme; Bongers, Frans; Burnham, Robyn J.; Cai, Zhiquan; Chuyong, George; Clark, David; Ewango, Corneille E.N.; Gerwing, Jeffrey J.; Gortaire, Esteban; Hart, Terese; Ibarra-Manríquez, Guillermo; Ickes, Kalan; Kenfack, David; Macía, Manuel; Makana, Jean-Remy; Martinez-Ramos, Miguel; Mascaro, Joseph; Moses, Sainge; Muller-Landau, Helene C.; Parren, Marc; Narayanaswamy, Parthasarathy; Perez Salicrup, Diego; Putz, Francis E.; Romero Saltos, Hugo; Thomas, Duncan. 2010. Annual rainfall and seasonality predict pan-tropical patterns of liana density and basal area. Biotropica. Vol: 42. Pages 309-317. (Online version)
Journal Article Gerwing, Jeffrey J.; Schnitzer, Stefan A.; Burnham, Robyn J.; Bongers, Frans; Chave, Jérôme; DeWalt, Saara J.; Ewango, Corneille E.N.; Foster, Robin; Kenfack, David; Martinez-Ramos, Miguel; Parren, Marc; Parthasarathy, Narayanaswa; Perez Salicrup, Diego; Putz, Francis E.; Thomas, Duncan. 2006. A standard protocol for liana censuses. Biotropica. Vol: 38(2). Pages 256-261.
Data Set Schnitzer, Stefan A.; Burnham, Robyn J.; Bongers, Frans; Chave, Jérôme; Clark, David; DeWalt, Saara J.; Ewango, Corneille E.N.; Fine, Paul V. A.; Foster, Robin; Gerwing, Jeffrey J.; Kenfack, David; Lohmann, Lucia; Martinez-Ramos, Miguel; Muller-Landau, Helene C.; Parren, Marc; Perez Salicrup, Diego; Putz, Francis E.; Romero Saltos, Hugo; Thomas, Duncan; Webb, Campbell O.; Parthasarathy, Narayanaswa. 2006. Determining pan-tropical patterns of liana distributions from regional datasets. (Abstract) (Online version)
"Lianas and tropical forest dynamics: Synthesis of Pan-tropical patterns from regional data sets" is project ID: 8541