The fate of nitrogen inputs to terrestrial ecosystems

Principal Investigators:

Pamela Templer, Michelle C. Mack, and Knute Nadelhoffer

Recent technical innovations in the use of 15N stable isotopic tracers at the ecosystem scale have produced a wealth of data on the fate of N inputs to terrestrial ecosystems. Although this analytically intensive technique has been used at over 20 sites world wide, there have been few attempts at cross-site synthesis. Here we propose a series of working group activities to synthesize ecosystem-scale 15N tracer experiments across a wide geographic range of ecosystem types. While at NCEAS, we propose to develop three products: (1) a standardized protocol... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group10th—14th January 2005Participant List  
Working Group10th—13th May 2005Participant List  
Working Group13th—15th March 2006Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Nina Buchmannbuchmann@bgc-jena.mpg.deMax-Planck Institute for Biogeochemisty
F. Stuart Chapinfschapiniii@alaska.eduUniversity of Alaska, Fairbanks
Lynn Christensonchristensonl@ecostudies.orgCary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
Jana E. Comptoncompton.jana@epamail.epa.govUS Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
William S. Curriewcurrie@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Bryan Dailbryan.dail@maine.eduUniversity of Maine
Carla M. D'Antoniodantonio@es.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Bridgett A. for Ecology and Hydrology, Bangor
Howie Epsteinhee2b@virginia.eduUniversity of Virginia
Holly Ewingewingh@ecostudies.orgCary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
Adrien Finziafinzi@bu.eduBoston University
Christine L. Goodaleclg33@cornell.eduCornell University
Peter M. Groffmangroffmanp@ecostudies.orgCary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
Per Gundersenpgu@kvl.dkInstitute Horsholm
Sarah E. Hobbieshobbie@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Keri Hollandholland@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
David Y. Hollingerdavidh@christa.unh.eduUSDA Forest Service
Dave U. Hooperhooper@biol.wwu.eduWestern Washington University
Bruce A. Hungatebruce.hungate@nau.eduNorthern Arizona University
Inger Kappel Schmidtiks@kvl.dkInstitute Horsholm
Kate Lajthalajthak@bcc.orst.eduOregon State University
Gary M. Lovettlovettg@ecostudies.orgCary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
Michelle C. Mackmcmack@botany.ufl.eduUniversity of Florida
Knute Nadelhofferknute@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Craig W. Osenbergosenberg@uga.eduUniversity of Florida
Steve Perakissperakis@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Joshua P. Schimelschimel@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Patrick Schleppischleppi@wsl.chSwiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Research (WSL)
Neal Scottscottn@post.queensu.caWoods Hole Research Center
Martin Land Use Research Institute
John Spoelstrajspoelst@sciborg.uwaterloo.caUniversity of Waterloo
Pamela Templerptempler@bu.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Albert Tietemaa.tietema@science.uva.nlUniversity of Amsterdam
Donald R. Zakdrzak@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Willem W. Wesselwwessel@science.uva.nlUniversity of Michigan

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Data Set Templer, Pamela; Mack, Michelle C.; Nadelhoffer, Knute. 2005. Fate of nitrogen inputs to terrestrial ecosystems: A meta-analysis of ecosystem scale 15N tracer studies. (Online version)
Journal Article Templer, Pamela; Mack, Michelle C.; Chapin, F. Stuart; Christenson, Lynn; Compton, Jana E.; Crook, H. D.; Currie, William S.; Curtis, Chris J.; Dail, Bryan; D'Antonio, Carla M.; Emmett, Bridgett A.; Epstein, Howie; Goodale, Christine L.; Gundersen, Per; Hobbie, Sarah E.; Holland, Keri; Hooper, Dave U.; Hungate, Bruce A.; Lamontagne, S.; Nadelhoffer, Knute; Osenberg, Craig W.; Perakis, Steve; Schleppi, Patrick; Schimel, Joshua P.; Kappel Schmidt, Inger; Sommerkorn, Martin; Spoelstra, John; Tietema, Albert; Wessel, Willem W.; Zak, Donald R. 2012. Sinks for nitrogen inputs in terrestrial ecosystems: A meta-analysis of 15 N tracer field studies. Ecology. Vol: 93(8). Pages 1816-1829.
"The fate of nitrogen inputs to terrestrial ecosystems" is project ID: 8581