Habitat modification in conservation problems: Modeling invasive ecosystem engineers

Principal Investigators:

Kim Cuddington, and James E. Byers

... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group13th—17th August 2004Participant List  
Working Group1st—4th February 2005Participant List  
Working Group27th—30th June 2005Participant List  
Working Group4th—7th December 2005Participant List  
Working Group7th—10th May 2006Participant List  
Working Group11th—14th January 2007Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Mark D. Bertnessmark_bertness@brown.eduBrown University
James E. Byersjebyers@uga.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Jeffrey A. Crooksjacrooks@yahoo.comSouthwest Wetlands Interpretive Association
Kim Cuddingtoncuddingt@ohio.eduOhio University
Alan Hastingsamhastings@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Clive G. Jonesjonesc@ecostudies.orgCary Institute of Ecosystem Studies
John Lambrinoslambrinj@hort.oregonstate.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Hunter S. Lenihanlenihan@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jonathan M. Levinelevine@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Theresa Talleytstalley@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Will G. Wilsonwgw@duke.eduDuke University
Stephanie Yelenikyelenik@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Byers, James E.; Cuddington, Kim; Jones, Clive G.; Talley, Theresa; Hastings, Alan; Lambrinos, John; Crooks, Jeffrey A.; Wilson, Will G. 2006. Using ecosystem engineers to restore ecological systems. Trends in Ecology & Evolution. Vol: 21(9). Pages 493-500.
Book Chapter Crooks, Jeffrey A. 2009. The role of exotic marine ecosystem engineers. Edited by Rilov, G.; Crooks, J.A. Marine Bioinvasions: Ecological, Conservation, and Management Perspectives. Springer. Pages 287-304.
Presentations Cuddington, Kim; Wilson, Will G.; Hastings, Alan. 2005. A simple model of an ecosystem engineer. Young Researchers Workshop, March 2005. Mathematical Biology Institute, Ohio State University. Columbus, OH.
Presentations Cuddington, Kim; Wilson, Will G.; Hastings, Alan. 2006. Ecosystem engineers: Runaway growth and multiple basins of attraction, 6-11 August 2006. Ecological Society of America. Memphis, TN.
Book Cuddington, Kim; Byers, James E.; Hastings, Alan; Wilson, Will G. 2007. Ecosystem Engineers: Plants to Protists. Edited by Cuddington, K.; Byers, J.E.; Wilson, W.G.; and Hastings, A. Academic Press/Elsevier. Amsterdam. Pages 405.
Journal Article Cuddington, Kim; Wilson, Will G.; Hastings, Alan. 2009. Ecosystem engineers: Feedback and population dynamics. American Naturalist. Vol: 173(4). Pages 488-498.
Journal Article Hastings, Alan; Byers, James E.; Crooks, Jeffrey A.; Cuddington, Kim; Jones, Clive G.; Lambrinos, John; Talley, Theresa; Wilson, Will G. 2007. Ecosystem engineering in space and time. Ecology Letters. Vol: 10. Pages 153-164.
Book Chapter Jones, Clive G.; Gutierrez, Jorge L. 2007. On the purpose, meaning, and usage of the physical ecosystem engineering concept. Edited by On the purpose, meaning, and usage of the physical ecosystem engineering concept. Edited by Cuddington, K.; Byers, J. E.; Hastings, A.; Wilson, A.; Wilson, W. G Ecosystem Engineers: Plants to Protists. Academic Press/Elsevier. Pages 3-24.
Journal Article Jones, Clive G.; Gutierrez, Jorge L.; Byers, James E.; Crooks, Jeffrey A.; Lambrinos, John; Talley, Theresa. 2010. A framework for understanding physical ecosystem engineering by organisms. Oikos. Vol: 119(12). Pages 1862-1869.
"Habitat modification in conservation problems: Modeling invasive ecosystem engineers" is project ID: 8600