Knowledge and capacity-building to support ecosystem-based management (EBM) for sustainable coastal-marine systems

Principal Investigators:

O. J. Reichman

The recent U.S. Commission for Ocean Policy Report (2004) calls for a new national ocean policy that balances use with sustainability, and moves towards ecosystem-based management (EBM) founded on sound science. But, as yet, there is no scientific consensus on (1) the basic elements or processes involved in ecosystem-based management; (2) the scientific understanding of coastal-marine systems that it will require; or (3) how best to integrate that scientific understanding into decision-making processes. The David and Lucile Packard Foundation has... more

In June 2004, the Packard Foundation awarded $2,060,292 to the National Center for Ecological Analysis and Synthesis (NCEAS), at the University of California, Santa Barbara for a three year program of activities, involving the analysis and synthesis of existing data and development of new tools to address gaps in knowledge that are critical to successful implementation of ecosystem-based management. The NCEAS activities will include support for working groups, postdoctoral fellowships, graduate student support, and a distributed graduate seminar.

In this program, NCEAS will go beyond publishing academic papers to devise specific strategies to make the scientific knowledge developed through the project directly useful for practitioners and policy makers. Previous attempts to implement ecosystem-based management have been hindered by the failure to effectively incorporate scientific understanding into the decision-making process, and by neglecting to include the stakeholders whose support will be essential to action. We expect that this set of NCEAS activities will lead to the development of a coherent body of knowledge that will change the conceptual foundations for managing coastal-marine ecosystems and help develop the necessary capacity among individuals and institutions to catalyze this sea-change.

Both goals and approaches for EBM vary, depending on geographic location, social values, institutional settings, economic constraints, etc. Nonetheless, it is clear that EBM entails some level of understanding of the scale, complexity and dynamic nature of both ecological and human systems. collapse

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group20th—21st July 2004Participant List  
Working Group14th—15th January 2005Participant List  
Distributed Graduate Seminar5th—11th February 2005Participant List  
Working Group25th—29th July 2005Participant List  
Graduate Student1st April—30th June 2006Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Sandy J. Andelmansandelman@conservation.orgUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Nancy Baronnbaron@compassonline.orgSeaWeb
Daniel L. Childersdan.childers@asu.eduFlorida International University
Christopher Costellocostello@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jamie M. CournaneJamie.Cournane@unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Kirsten Evansevanske@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Steven D. Gainesgaines@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Barry D. Goldbarry.gold@moore.orgDavid and Lucile Packard Foundation
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kirstin Holsmankkari@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Teresa Klingertklinger@uw.eduUniversity of Washington
William T. Langfordbill.langford@rmit.edu.auUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Josh Metzmetz@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
John Meyerjjmeyer@cisunix.unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Julia K. Parrishjparrish@u.washington.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Peter Patonppaton@uri.eduUniversity of Rhode Island
Chris Pykecpyke@usgbc.orgUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Scott Rehmussrehmus@packard.orgDavid and Lucile Packard Foundation
Andrew A. RosenbergUniversity of New Hampshire
Jennifer Ruesinkruesink@u.washington.eduUniversity of Washington
Moshe Shachakshachak@bgumail.bgu.ac.ilUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kathy Vigness-Raposakvigness@aol.comUniversity of Rhode Island
Kerrie Wilsonk.wilson2@uq.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
Erika A. Zolletterika.zollett@mragamericas.comUniversity of New Hampshire
Avigdor Abelsonavigdor@post.tau.ac.ilTel Aviv University
Carol A. Blanchetteblanchette@msi.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Loke Ming Choudbsclm@nus.edu.sgNational University of Singapore
Jenifer E. Duganj_dugan@lifesci.lscf.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Sergio R. Floeterfloeter@ccb.ufsc.brUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jacqueline M. Grebmeierjgrebmei@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee
Gretchen Hoffmannhofmann@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Tanaji Jagtaptanaji@darya.nio.orgNational Institute of Oceanography (NIO)
Aaron Jenkinsapjenkins@connect.com.fjWetlands International
Margaret F. Kinnairdmkinnaird@mpala.orgUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kevin D. Laffertylafferty@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Hunter S. Lenihanlenihan@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Elizabeth M.P. Madinmadin@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Timothy R. McClanahantmcclanahan@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society Kenya
Sergio A. Navarretesnavarre@genes.bio.puc.clPontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
Timothy G. O'Brientobrien@wcs.orgUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Benjamin I. Ruttenbergbenjamin.ruttenberg@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kimberly A. Selkoeselkoe@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Shaun Walbridgewalbridge@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Evie Wietersewieters@bio.puc.clPontificia Universidad Católica de Chile
Sarah Abramsonsabramson@healthebay.orgUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Vanessa M. Adamsv_m_adams@yahoo.comUniversity of Queensland
Irit Altmanialtman@cisunix.unh.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Katie Arkemakarkema@stanford.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michael Bodebodem@unimelb.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
James E. Byersjebyers@uga.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Bryan Dewsburyjuice_berry@yahoo.comFlorida International University
Lindy Dingersonlynne@vims.eduVirginia Institute of Marine Science
Patrick Gibsongibsonp@fiu.eduFlorida International University
Chuck Gosscgoss001@fiu.eduFlorida International University
David Greendavid.green@fiu.eduFlorida International University
Carl Hershnercarl@vims.eduCollege of William and Mary
Mary Huangmaryh@vims.eduVirginia Institute of Marine Science
David Iwanieciwaniecd@fiu.eduFlorida International University
Sarah E. Lesterlester@msi.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Julio Lordalorda@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Summer Morlocksummer.morlock@noaa.govUniversity of Washington
Avi Perevolotskyavi@agri.gov.ilVolcani Center
Moran Segolilevymora@bgumail.bgu.ac.ilBen-Gurion University of the Negev
Efrat Shefferefratshe@bgumail.bgu.ac.ilBen-Gurion University of the Negev
Kathryn Stanawaykathryn.stanaway@fiu.eduFlorida International University
Matt Stricklermjstri@wm.eduVirginia Institute of Marine Science
Sarah J. Teckteck@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of New Hampshire
Jeff Wozniakwozniak@fiu.eduFlorida International University
Thomas Youngyoung@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Julie Ekstromjekstrom@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Halpern, Benjamin S.; Floeter, Sergio R. 2008. Functional diversity responses to changing species richness in reef fish communities. Marine Ecology-Progress Series. Vol: 364. Pages 147-156.
Journal Article Halpern, Benjamin S.; Ebert, Colin M.; Kappel, Carrie V.; Madin, Elizabeth M.P.; Micheli, Fiorenza; Perry, Matthew; Selkoe, Kimberly A.; Walbridge, Shaun. 2009. Global priority areas for incorporating land-sea connections in marine conservation. Conservation Letters. Vol: 2. Pages 189-196.
Journal Article Halpern, Benjamin S.; Lester, Sarah E.; Kellner, Julie. 2010. Spillover from marine reserves and the replenishment of fished stocks. Environmental Conservation. Vol: 36(4). Pages 268-276. (Online version)
Journal Article Spalding, Mark; Fox, Helen; Allen, Gerald R.; Davidson, Nick; Ferdana, Zach A.; Finlayson, Max; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Jorge, Miguel A.; Lombana, Al; Lourie, Sara A.; Martin, Kirsten D.; McManus, Edmund; Molnar, Jennifer; Recchia, Cheri; Robertson, James. 2007. Marine ecoregions of the world: A bioregionalization of coastal and shelf areas. BioScience. Vol: 57(7). Pages 573-583.
"Knowledge and capacity-building to support ecosystem-based management (EBM) for sustainable coastal-marine systems" is project ID: 8960