Biodiversity and conservation value of agricultural landscapes of Mesoamerica

Principal Investigators:

Robin L. Chazdon, and Daniel M. Griffith

This working group will synthesize information from research conducted across eight Mesoamerican countries to elucidate and promote principles for conservation action in human-impacted landscapes of Mesoamerica and to enhance the contribution to biodiversity conservation of forest fragments, extant agriculture, post-agricultural secondary forests, and forest restoration projects. Substantial ecological data sources are available now to develop such a synthesis and to promote the use of current knowledge in conservation planning, biodiversity assessment,... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group16th—20th May 2005Participant List  
Working Group10th—14th November 2005Participant List  
Working Group9th—12th June 2006Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Miguel Altierriagroeco3@nature.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Gerardo G. Ceballosgceballo@miranda.ecologia.unam.mxUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Robin L. Chazdonchazdon@uconn.eduUniversity of Connecticut
Gretchen Dailygdaily@leland.stanford.eduStanford University
Anabel Fordford@marc.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Luis Garcia-Barrioslgarcia@sclc.ecosur.mxEl Colegio de la Frontera Sur (ECOSUR)
Daniel M. Griffithgriffith08@gmail.comSaint Louis Zoo
Sergio Guevara Sadaguevaras@ecologia.edu.mxInstituto de Ecología, A.C.
Celia Harveycharvey@conservation.orgTropical Agricultural Centre for Research and Higher Education (CATIE)
Robert Mansonmanson@ecologia.edu.mxInstituto de Ecología, A.C.
Helda Moraleshmorales@sclc.ecosur.mxEl Colegio de la Frontera Sur (ECOSUR)
Ronald Nighrbnigh@prodigy.net.mxCentro de Investigaciones y Estudios Superiores en Antropología Social del Sureste
Stacy Philpottsphilpot@ucsc.eduNational Zoological Park
Joel Saenzjsaenz@una.ac.crUniversidad National de Costa Rica
Cagan H. Sekercioglucagan@stanford.eduStanford University
Lorena Soto-Pintolsoto@sclc.ecosur.mxEl Colegio de la Frontera Sur (ECOSUR)
Victor M. Toledovtoledo@miranda.ecologia.unam.mxUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Alexandre Bonesso Sampaiobonesso@cenargen.embrapa.brUniversidade de Brasília
Frans Bongersfrans.bongers@wur.nlWageningen University
Douglas Boucherdboucher@hood.eduHood College
Julio Calvojucalvo@itcr.ac.crInstituto Tecnológico de Costa Rica
Rebecca Colercole@ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Bruce G. Fergusonbferguson@sclc.ecosur.mxEl Colegio de la Frontera Sur (ECOSUR)
Bryan Fineganbfinegan@catie.ac.crTropical Agricultural Centre for Research and Higher Education (CATIE)
Manuel Guariguatamanuel.guariguata@biodiv.orgSecretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity
Karen Hollkholl@ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Deborah Lawrencedl3c@virginia.eduUniversity of Virginia
Miguel Martinez-Ramosmiguel.martinez@oikos.unam.mxUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), Hermosillo
Florencia Montagniniflorencia.montagnini@yale.eduYale University
Susana Ochoa Gaonasochoa@vhs.ecosur.mxEl Colegio de la Frontera Sur (ECOSUR)
John Vandermeerjvander@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Hans Vesterhvester@ecosur-qroo.mxEl Colegio de la Frontera Sur (ECOSUR)
Mark Wishniemwishnie@gmail.comSmithsonian Tropical Research Institute
Alejandro Estradaaestrada@primatesmx.comUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Jose A. Gobbijgobbi@catie.ac.crTropical Agricultural Centre for Research and Higher Education (CATIE)
Oliver Komarokomar@salvanatura.orgSalvaNATURA
Michiel van Breugelmichiel.vanbreugel@wur.nlWageningen Agricultural University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Brander, Keith; Bruno, John F.; Hobday, Alistair; Shoeman, David. 2011. Correspondence: The value of attribution. Nature Climate Change. Vol: 1. Pages 70-71.
Presentations Chazdon, Robin L. 2007. Perspectivas para la conservación de especies de bosques tropicales en paisajes agrícolas. 17 Congrego Mexicano de Botánica, Sociedad Mexicana de Botánica.
Journal Article Chazdon, Robin L.; Letcher, Susan G.; van Breugel, Michiel; Martinez-Ramos, Miguel; Bongers, Frans; Finegan, Bryan. 2007. Rates of change in tree communities of secondary Neotropical forests following major disturbances. Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society B-Biological Sciences. Vol: 362. Pages 273-289.
Journal Article Chazdon, Robin L.; Harvey, Celia; Komar, Oliver; Griffith, Daniel M.; Ferguson, Bruce G.; Martinez-Ramos, Miguel; Morales, Helda; Nigh, Ronald; Soto-Pinto, Lorena; van Breugel, Michiel; Philpott, Stacy. 2009. Beyond reserves: A research agenda for conserving biodiversity in human-modified tropical landscapes. Biotropica. Vol: 41(2). Pages 142-153.
Book Chapter Chazdon, Robin L.; Harvey, Celia; Martinez-Ramos, Miguel; Schondube, J.; Avila Cabadilla, L. D.; Flores-Hidalgo, M. 2011. Tropical dry forest biodiversity and conservation value in agricultural landscapes of Mesoamerica.. Edited by R. Dirzo, H. A.; Mooney, G. Ceballos; H. Young Ecology and Conservation of Neotropical Dry Forests. Island Press. Pages 195-219.
Report or White Paper Ferguson, Bruce G.; Griffith, Daniel M.; Morales, Helda; Vilchez, B.; Diemont, S.; Alfaro Solórzano, G.; Chazdon, Robin L. 2006. Biodiversidad y Conservación en los Agropaisajes Mesoamericanos. Boletín de la Sociedad Mesoamericana para la Biología y la Conservación. Vol: 10. Pages 1-14.
Presentations Griffith, Daniel M. 2006. Variation in tropical forest regeneration along an agricultural land use gradient. I Congress of the Mexican Scientific Society of Ecology, November 26-30, 2006. Morelia, Michoacán, Mexico.
Journal Article Harvey, Celia; Komar, Oliver; Chazdon, Robin L.; Ferguson, Bruce G.; Finegan, Bryan; Griffith, Daniel M.; Martinez-Ramos, Miguel; Morales, Helda; Nigh, Ronald; Soto-Pinto, Lorena. 2008. Integrating agricultural landscapes with biodiversity conservation in the Mesoamerican hotspot. Conservation Biology . Vol: 22. Pages 8-15.
Journal Article Holl, Karen. 2007. Old field vegetation succession in the neotropics. Old Fields. Island Press. Washington D.C.. Pages 93-117.
Data Set Philpott, Stacy. 2007. Ants, birds, and tree diversity: Coffee agroecosystem meta-analysis. (Abstract) (Online version)
Journal Article Philpott, Stacy; Arendt, W.; Armbrecht, I.; Dietsch, T.; Gordon, C.; Greenberg, R.; Soto-Pinto, Lorena; Tejada-Cruz, C.; Williams-Linera, G.; Valenzuela, J. 2008. Biodiversity loss in Latin American coffee landscapes: Review of the evidence on ants, birds, and trees. Conservation Biology. Vol: 22(5). Pages 1093-1105.
"Biodiversity and conservation value of agricultural landscapes of Mesoamerica" is project ID: 9100