Ecological and evolutionary models for homeland security strategy

Principal Investigators:

Raphael Sagarin

Biological organisms have developed a remarkable number of strategies to mitigate conflict with a broad range of adversaries in their environment. The diversity and success of these strategies, as illustrated by the millions of extant species on the Earth today, suggests that biological evolution may be a field rich with lessons for guiding societal conflict resolution and security strategy. The working group will bring leading security policy analysts together with evolutionary biologists, anthropologists and ecologists to draw on their expertise... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group28th—30th January 2005Participant List  
Working Group15th—18th June 2005Participant List  
Working Group9th—12th December 2005Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Scott Atransatran@umich.eduInstitute for Social Research
Kennette M. Benedictkbenedic@macfound.orgJohn D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
Eric L. Berlowericberlow@gmail.comUniversity of California, Berkeley
Daniel Blumsteinmarmots@ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Peter M. Bustonbuston@bu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Ruth Davidruth.david@anser.orgAdvancing National Strategies and Enabling Results (ANSER)
Richard K. Grosbergrkgrosberg@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Michael E. Hochbergmhochber@univ-montp2.frUniversité de Montpellier II
Dominic Johnsondominic@princeton.eduPrinceton University
Elizabeth M.P. Madinmadin@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michael Moodiemmoodie@cbaci.orgUnknown
Elizabeth M. Prescottprescott@eurasiagroup.netCommittee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions
Raphael SagarinUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Terence Taylortaylor@iiss.orgInternational Institute for Strategic Studies
John Toobytooby@anth.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Geerat Vermeijvermeij@geology.ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Susan Brandonsusan_brandon@ostp.eop.govExecutive Office of the President
Gregory P. Dietlgregory.dietl@yale.eduYale University
Ferenc Jordanjordanf@freemail.huCollegium Budapest
Bill Kastenbergkastenbe@nuc.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Joshua S. Madinjoshua.madin@bio.mq.edu.auUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kevin D. Laffertylafferty@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Katherine F. Smithk_smith@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jonathan Stevensonjonathan.stevenson@nwc.navy.milUnknown
Bradley A. Thayerbradleythayer@missouristate.eduMissouri State University
Luis Villarreallpvillar@uci.eduUniversity of California, Irvine

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Sagarin, Raphael. 2006. Natural Security, November 2006. Western Society of Naturalists Annual Meeting. Seattle, WA.
Presentations Sagarin, Raphael. 2007. Natural Security, May 2007. Human Behavior Evolution and Society Annual Conference. Williamsburg, VA.
Book Chapter Sagarin, Raphael. 2008. Introduction. A holistic view of national security . Edited by Sagarin, R.; Taylor, T.. Natural Defense: Darwinian Perspectives on Security in a Dangerous World. University of California Press.
Presentations Sagarin, Raphael; Laipsom, Ellen. 2008. Natural Security, April 2008. AAAS Center for Science, Technology and Security Policy. Washington, DC.
Presentations Sagarin, Raphael; Taylor, Terence; Johnson, Dominic. 2008. Natural Security, April 2008. Center for Strategic and International Studies. Washington, DC.
Presentations Sagarin, Raphael. 2008. Natural Security, December 2008. Duke University, Program in Ecology. Durham, NC.
Presentations Sagarin, Raphael. 2008. Natural Security, February 2008. The Regulator Bookshop. Durham, NC.
Presentations Sagarin, Raphael; Taylor, Terence. 2008. Natural Security, May 2008. Stanford University Center for International Security and Cooperation. Stanford, CA.
Presentations Sagarin, Raphael; Taylor, Terence. 2008. Natural Security, May 2008. IBM Almaden Laboratories, May 2008. Almaden, CA.
Presentations Sagarin, Raphael; Taylor, Terence. 2008. Natural Security, May 2008. Google, Inc.. Mountain View, CA.
Presentations Sagarin, Raphael; Taylor, Terence. 2008. Natural Security, November 2008. Triangle Center for Homeland Secuity Solutions. Durham, NC.
Presentations Sagarin, Raphael. 2008. Natural Security, October 2008. University of Arizona, School of Natural Resources. Tucson, AZ.
Book Chapter Sagarin, Raphael. 2008. Population models and countersurgency strategies. Natural security a Darwinian approach to a dangerous world. Pages 159-185.
Book Chapter Sagarin, Raphael. 2008. The origins of natural security. Edited by Sagarin, R.; Taylor, T.. Natural Defense: Darwinian Perspectives on Security in a Dangerous World. University of California Press.
Book Sagarin, Raphael. 2012. Learning from the Octopus: How Secrets from Nature Can Help Us Fight Terrorist Attacks, Natural Disasters and Disease. Basic Books, A Member of the Perseus Books Group. New York, NY.
"Ecological and evolutionary models for homeland security strategy" is project ID: 9380