Restoring an ecosystem service to degraded landscapes: Native bees and crop pollination

Principal Investigators:

Claire Kremen, and Neal M. Williams

Ecosystem services are critical to human survival; managing ecosystems for services could also provide important benefits for biodiversity. Unfortunately, we seldom understand the ecology of these services well enough to manage them. Pollination services are necessary for 15-30% of our food supply, and are comparatively well-understood relative to other ecosystem services. We propose to synthesize data on bee populations, pollinator communities and pollination services across agro-natural landscapes, in order to: (1) develop models of the persistence... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group20th—24th June 2005Participant List  
Working Group9th—13th January 2006Participant List  
Working Group12th—15th January 2010Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Laurie Adamslda@coevolution.orgCoevolution Institute
Marcelo A. Aizenmarcito@crub.uncoma.edu.arUniversidad Nacional del Comahue
James H. Canejcane@biology.usu.eduUtah State University
Elizabeth E. Croneelizabeth.crone@tufts.eduUniversity of Montana
Sarah S. Greenleafsarahs@princeton.eduPrinceton University
Timothy H. Keitttkeitt@mail.utexas.eduUniversity of Texas, Austin
Alexandra-Maria Kleinaklein2@gwdg.deUniversity of Göttingen
Claire Kremenckremen@nature.berkeley.eduPrinceton University
Gretchen LeBuhnlebuhn@sfsu.eduSan Francisco State University
Robert Minckleyrminckle@mail.rochester.eduUniversity of Utah
Laurence Packerlaurencepacker@yahoo.comYork University
Simon Pottss.g.potts@reading.ac.ukUniversity of Reading
Jim Regetzregetz@nceas.ucsb.eduPrinceton University
Taylor RickettsTaylor.Ricketts@uvm.eduWorld Wildlife Fund
T'ai Roulstontai.roulston@virginia.eduUniversity of Virginia
Ingolf Steffan-Dewenteringolf.steffan@uni-bayreuth.deUniversity of Göttingen
Diego P. Vazquezdvazquez@lab.cricyt.edu.arUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Neal M. Williamsnmwilliams@ucdavis.eduBryn Mawr College
Rachael Winfreerwinfree@rutgers.eduPrinceton University
Ramiro Aguilarraguilar@oikos.unam.mxUniversidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), Morelia
Saul Cunninghamsaul.cunningham@csiro.auCSIRO Entomology
Barbara Gemmill-Herronbarbara.herren@fao.orgFood and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
Daniel Cariveaucariveau@rci.rutgers.eduState University of New Jersey, Rutgers
Luisa Carvalheirocarvalheiro@sanbi.orgSouth African National Biodiversity Institute
Natacha Chacoffnchacoff@mendoza-conicet.gov.arInstituto Argentino de Investigaciones de las Zonas Aridas
Rufus Isaacsisaacsr@msu.eduMichigan State University
Steve Javorekjavoreks@agr.gc.caAgriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Christina M. Kennedycmk6@umd.eduUniversity of Maryland
Eric Lonsdorfericlonsdorf@lpzoo.orgLincoln Park Zoo
Yael Mandelikmandelik@agri.huji.ac.ilHebrew University of Jerusalem
Lora A. Morandinlora_morandin@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Julianna K. Tuelltuelljul@msu.eduMichigan State University
Blandina F. Vianablande.viana@gmail.comUniversidade Federal da Bahia , Campus de Ondina

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Aizen, Marcelo A.; Garibaldi, Lucas A.; Cunningham, Saul; Klein, Alexandra-Maria. 2008. Long-term global trends in crop yield and production reveal no current pollination shortage but increasing pollinator dependency. Current Biology . Vol: 18. Pages 1572-1575.
Journal Article Aizen, Marcelo A.; Garibaldi, Lucas A.; Cunningham, Saul; Klein, Alexandra-Maria. 2009. How much does agriculture depend on pollinators? Lessons from long-term trends in crop production. Annals of Botany. Vol: 103. Pages 1579-1588.
Journal Article Eilers, Elizabeth J.; Kremen, Claire; Greenleaf, Sarah S.; Garber, Andrea K.; Klein, Alexandra-Maria. 2011. Contribution of pollinator-mediated crops to nutrients in the human food supply. PLoS ONE. Vol: 6(6). Pages e21363. (Online version)
Journal Article Garibaldi, Lucas A.; Steffan-Dewenter, Ingolf; Kreman, Claire; Morales, Juan M.; Bommarco, Riccardo; Cunningham, Saul; Carvalheiro, Luisa; Chacoff, Natacha; Dudenhöffer, Jan H.; Greenleaf, Sarah S.; Holzschuh, Andrea; Isaacs, Rufus; Krewenka, Kristin; Mandelik, Yael; Mayfield, Margaret M.; Morandin, Lora A.; Potts, Simon; Ricketts, Taylor; Szentgyörgyi, Hajnalka; Viana, Blandina F.; Westphal, Catrin; Winfree, Rachael; Klein, Alexandra-Maria. 2011. Stability of pollination services decreases with isolation from natural areas despite honey bee visits. Ecology Letters. Vol: 14. Pages 1062-1072. (Online version)
Journal Article Keitt, Timothy H. 2009. Habitat conversion, extinction thresholds, and pollination services in agroecosystems. Ecological Applications. Vol: 19. Pages 1561-1573.
Data Set Kennedy, Christina M. 2012. Local farm management and landscape effects on native bee pollinators in agroecosystems. (Online version)
Journal Article Klein, Alexandra-Maria; Vaissiere, Bernard E.; Cane, James H.; Steffan-Dewenter, Ingolf; Cunningham, Saul; Kremen, Claire; Tscharntke, Teja. 2007. Importance of pollinators in changing landscapes for world crops. Proceedings of the Royal Society B-Biological Sciences. Vol: 274. Pages 303-313.
Presentations Kremen, Claire. 2007. From science to action. Iowa Conservation Biology Conference February 2007. Iowa.
Journal Article Kremen, Claire; Williams, Neal M.; Gemmill-Herron, Barbara; LeBuhn, Gretchen; Minckley, Robert; Packer, Laurence; Potts, Simon; Roulston, T'ai; Steffan-Dewenter, Ingolf; Vazquez, Diego P.; Winfree, Rachael; Adams, Laurie; Crone, Elizabeth E.; Greenleaf, Sarah S.; Keitt, Timothy H.; Klein, Alexandra-Maria; Regetz, Jim; Ricketts, Taylor; Aizen, Marcelo A. 2007. Pollination and other ecosystem services produced by mobile organisms: A conceptual framework for the effects of land-use change. Ecology Letters. Vol: 10. Pages 299-314.
Journal Article Lonsdorf, Eric; Kremen, Claire; Ricketts, Taylor; Winfree, Rachael; Williams, Neal M.; Greenleaf, Sarah S. 2009. Modelling pollination services across agricultural landscapes. Annals of Botany.
Book Chapter Lonsdorf, Eric; Ricketts, Taylor; Kremen, Claire; Winfree, Rachael; Greenleaf, Sarah S.; Williams, Neal M. In Press. Crop pollination services. Edited by Kareiva, P.; Daily, G.; Ricketts, T. H.; Tallis, H.; Polasky, S. Theory & Practice of Ecosystem Service Valuation in Conservation. Oxford University Press. Oxford.
Journal Article Potts, Simon; Biesmeijer, Jacobus C.; Kreman, Claire; Neumann, Peter; Schweiger, Oliver; Kunin, William E. 2010. Global pollinator declines: Trends, impacts and drivers. Trends in Ecology and Evolution. Vol: 25. Pages 345-353. (Online version)
Data Set Ricketts, Taylor. 2008. Crop pollination services at varying proximity to natural habitat. (Online version)
Journal Article Ricketts, Taylor; Regetz, Jim; Steffan-Dewenter, Ingolf; Cunningham, Saul; Kremen, Claire; Bogdanski, Anne; Gemmill-Herron, Barbara; Greenleaf, Sarah S.; Klein, Alexandra-Maria; Mayfield, Margaret M.; Morandin, Lora A.; Ochieng, Alfred; Viana, Blandina F. 2008. Landscape effects on crop pollination services: Are there general patterns?. Ecology Letters. Vol: 11(5). Pages 499-515.
Journal Article Ricketts, Taylor; Lonsdorf, Eric. 2013. Mapping the margin: Comparing marginal values of tropical forest remnants for pollination services. Ecological Applications. Vol: 23. Pages 1113-1123. (Online version)
Journal Article Williams, Neal M.; Crone, Elizabeth E.; Roulston, T'ai; Minckley, Robert; Packer, Laurence; Potts, Simon. 2010. Ecological and life history traits predict bee species responses to environmental disturbances. Biological Conservation. Vol: 143(10). Pages 2280-2291.
Presentations Winfree, Rachael. 2008. A meta-analysis of bees response to disturbance. Ecological Society of America.
Journal Article Winfree, Rachael; Aguilar, Ramiro; Vazquez, Diego P.; LeBuhn, Gretchen; Aizen, Marcelo A. 2009. A meta-analysis of bees' responses to anthropogenic disturbance. Ecology. Vol: 90(8). Pages 2068-2076.
"Restoring an ecosystem service to degraded landscapes: Native bees and crop pollination" is project ID: 9381