Vulnerability of carbon in permafrost: Pool size and potential effects on the climate system

Principal Investigators:

Christopher B. Field, and Josep G. Canadell

Ecosystem responses that cause carbon loss to the atmosphere in a warming climate could greatly accelerate climate change during this century. Potentially vulnerable carbon pools that currently contain hundreds of billion tons of carbon could be destabilized through global warming and land use change. Some of the most vulnerable pools on land and oceans are: soil carbon in permafrost, soil carbon in high and low-latitude wetlands, biomass-carbon in forests, methane hydrates in the coastal zone, and ocean carbon concentrated by the biological pump.... more

Participants and Meetings

Working Group Participants
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group28th—30th March 2006Participant List  
Working Group4th—6th December 2006Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

James Bockheimbockheim@wisc.eduUniversity of Wisconsin
Josep G. Canadellpep.canadell@csiro.auCommonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
Eugenie Euskirchenffese@uaf.eduUniversity of Alaska, Fairbanks
Christopher B. Fieldcfield@globalecology.stanford.eduCarnegie Institution
Sergey V. Goryachkinpedology@igras.geonet.ruRussian Academy of Sciences
Stefan Hagemannhagemann@dkrz.deMax-Planck Institute for Meteorology
Peter University
Peter Lafleurplafleur@trentu.caTrent University
Glen MacDonaldmacdonal@geog.ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Galina MazhitovaRussian Academy of Sciences
Frederick Nelsonfnelson@udel.eduUniversity of Delaware
Annette Rinkearinke@awi-potsdam.deAlfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research
Daniel Riseboroughdrisebor@NRCan.gc.caUnknown
Edward A.G. Schuurtschuur@ufl.eduUniversity of Florida
Charles Tarnocaitarnocaict@agr.gc.caAgriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Sergey Centre for Climate Prediction and Research
Sergei Zimovsazimov55@mail.ruRussian Academy of Sciences
Vladimir Romanovskyffver@uaf.eduUniversity of Alaska
Nikolay (Kolia) Shiklomanovshiklom@udel.eduUniversity of Delaware

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Schuur, Edward A.G.; Bockheim, James; Canadell, Josep G.; Euskirchen, Eugenie; Field, Christopher B.; Goryachkin, Sergey V.; Hagemann, Stefan; Kuhry, Peter; Lafleur, Peter; Lee, Hanna; Mazhitova, Galina; Nelson, Frederick; Rinke, Annette; Romanovsky, Vladimir; Shiklomanov, Nikolay (Kolia); Tarnocai, Charles; Venevsky, Sergey; Vogel, Jason G.; Zimov, Sergei. 2008. Vulnerability of permafrost carbon to climate change: Implications for the global carbon cycle . BioScience. Vol: 58(8). Pages 701-714.
Journal Article Tarnocai, Charles; Canadell, Josep G.; Schuur, Edward A.G.; Kuhry, Peter; Mazhitova, Galina; Zimov, Sergei. 2009. Soil organic carbon pools in the northern circumpolar permafrost region. Global Biochemical Cycles. Vol: 23(2). Pages 1-11. (Online version)
"Vulnerability of carbon in permafrost: Pool size and potential effects on the climate system" is project ID: 9781