Ranking and mapping human threats and impacts to marine ecosystems in the California current

Principal Investigators:

Benjamin S. Halpern

Building on a similar global effort (Mapping current threats and impacts of human activities on global marine ecosystems this project will map current threats and impacts of human activities on the California Current marine ecosystem. The project will first survey experts in six subregions of the California Current to explore geographic variation in the effects of threats. A workshop will then be held to use decision theory to evaluate the tradeoffs of using expert opinion to assess threats and associated impacts. Data on ecosystems and threats... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group26th—27th April 2007Participant List  
Working Group14th—16th January 2008Participant List  
Working Group24th—26th March 2008Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Joe Arvaisknkwrks@msu.eduMichigan State University
Marjorie L. Brooksmlbrooks@siu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Roger M. Cookecooke@rff.orgResources for the Future
Caitlin Craincrainc@biology.ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
Hadi Dowaltabadihadi.d@ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Baruch Fischhoffbaruch@cmu.eduCarnegie Mellon University
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Carrie V. Kappelkappel@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Rebecca Martonermartone@stanford.eduStanford University
Fiorenza Michelimicheli@stanford.eduStanford University
Grant Murraymurrayg@mala.bc.caInstitute for Coastal Research
Kimberly A. Selkoeselkoe@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Christine Shearercshearer@umail.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Sarah J. Teckteck@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Colin M. Ebertebert@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Caitlin Kontgiskontgis@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Halpern, Benjamin S.; Kappel, Carrie V.; Selkoe, Kimberly A.; Micheli, Fiorenza; Ebert, Colin M.; Kontgis, Caitlin; Crain, Caitlin; Martone, Rebecca; Shearer, Christine; Teck, Sarah J. 2009. Mapping cumulative human impacts to California current marine ecosystems. Conservation Letters. Vol: 2. Pages 138-148.
Book Chapter Neslo, Rabin; Micheli, Fiorenza; Kappel, Carrie V.; Selkoe, Kimberly A.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Cooke, Roger M. 2008. Modeling stakeholder preferences with probabilistic inversion: Application to prioritizing marine ecosystem vulnerabilities. Edited by Linkov, I.; Ferguson; E. Real time and deliberative decision making: Application to risk assesment for non-chemical stressors. Springer. Amsterdam.
Journal Article Teck, Sarah J.; Halpern, Benjamin S.; Kappel, Carrie V.; Micheli, Fiorenza; Selkoe, Kimberly A.; Crain, Caitlin; Martone, Rebecca; Shearer, Christine; Arvai, Joe; Fischhoff, Baruch; Murray, Grant; Neslo, Rabin; Cooke, Roger M. 2010. Using expert judgment to estimate marine ecosystem vulnerability in the California Current. Ecological Applications. Vol: 20(5). Pages 1402-1416. (Online version)
"Ranking and mapping human threats and impacts to marine ecosystems in the California current" is project ID: 12108