Monitoring responses of Pacific salmon to climate change

Principal Investigators:

Randall M. Peterman

This working group will develop monitoring programs that can identify changes in populations of Pacific salmon and attribute those changes to different potential mechanisms, including climatic change. Analyses of data from such programs will (1) document changes in salmon populations, (2) provide empirical data to compare with previous predictions, (3)inform evaluation of alternative hypotheses about mechanisms by which climate change affects salmon, and (4) inform suggested actions to maintain wild Pacific salmon populations over the long term.... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group10th—11th March 2008Participant List  
Working Group28th—30th April 2009Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Pete Adamspete.adams@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Douglas Drakedrake.doug@deq.state.or.usOregon Department of Environmental Quality
Erica Fleishmanefleishman@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kendra R. Holtkrh@sfu.caSimon Fraser University
Chris E. Jordanchris.jordan@noaa.govNOAA, Northwest Fisheries Science Center
David P. Larsenlarsen.phil@epa.govPacific States Marine Fisheries Commission
Steve Leidersteve.leider@gsro.wa.govWashington Governor's Salmon Recovery Office
Anthony Olsenolsen.tony@epa.govUS Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Chuck Parkenchuck.parken@dfo.mpo.gc.caFisheries and Oceans Canada
Randall M. Petermanpeterman@sfu.caSimon Fraser University
Jeffrey Rodgersjeff.rodgers@oregonstate.eduOregon Department of Fish and Wildlife (DFW)
Michael Webstermwebster@coral.orgGordon and Betty Moore Foundation
Harold J. Geigershrg@ak.netSt. Hubert Research Group
Richard H. Lincolnrlincoln@wildsalmoncenter.orgWild Salmon Center

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Dorner, Brigitte; Holt, Kendra R.; Peterman, Randall M.; Jordan, Chris E.; Larsen, David P.; Olsen, Anthony; Aziz, Omar I. 2013. Evaluating alternative methods for monitoring and estimating responses of salmon productivity in the North Pacific to future climatic change and other processes: A simulation study. Fisheries Research. Vol: 147. Pages 10-23.
Journal Article Holt, Kendra R.; Peterman, Randall M.; Cox, Sean P. 2011. Trade-offs between monitoring objectives and monitoring effort when classifying regional conservation status of Pacific salmon (Oncorhynchus spp.) populations. Canadian Journal of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences. Vol: 68. Pages 880-897. (Online version)
"Monitoring responses of Pacific salmon to climate change" is project ID: 12203