Pyrogeography and climate change (co-sponsored with KITP)

Principal Investigators:

David Bowman, and Jennifer K. Balch

It is time to rethink the place of fire on Earth. Megafires are currently overwhelming human control, despite huge budgets and mature fire-fighting technologies. There is mounting evidence that, beyond immediate destruction of life and property, landscape fires have long-term effects on global carbon stocks, biodiversity, climate, world economies, and human health. Despite fire’s pervasive influence in many disciplines, there is no uniting theory or paradigm concerning the role of biomass burning in Earth science. Moreover, fire has not been satisfactorily... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group27th May—3rd June 2008Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Paulo Artaxoartaxo@if.usp.brUniversidade de São Paulo
Jennifer K. Balchjennifer.balch@colorado.eduYale University
William J. Bondwilliam.bond@uct.ac.zaUniversity of Cape Town
David Bowmandavid.bowman@utas.edu.auUniversity of Tasmania
Jean Carlsoncarlson@physics.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Mark Cochranemark.cochrane@sdstate.eduSouth Dakota State University
Ruth S. DeFriesrd2402@columbia.eduUniversity of Maryland
Martin Einhornmeinhorn@kitp.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Fay Johnstonfay.johnston@utas.edu.auUniversity of Tasmania
Jon Keeleyjon_keeley@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Meg A. Krawchukmeg_krawchuk@sfu.caUniversity of California, Berkeley
Christian Kullchristian.kull@arts.monash.edu.auMonash University
John B. Marstonbrad.marston@brown.eduBrown University
Max A. Moritzmmoritz@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
I. Colin Prenticecolin.prentice@mq.edu.auUniversity of Bristol
Christopher Rooscroos@smu.eduSouthern Methodist University
Andrew C. Scotta.scott@gl.rhul.ac.ukUniversity of London
Zongbo Shangzshang1@uwyo.edu
Thomas W. Swetnamtswetnam@ltrr.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Guido van der Werfguido.van.der.werf@falw.vu.nlVrije Universiteit

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Presentations Balch, Jennifer K. 2009. Pyrogeography: Fire’s place in Earth system science. Chinese Delegation to NCEAS with representatives from NSF, 28 October 2009.
Journal Article Balch, Jennifer K.; Nepstad, Daniel C.; Brando, Paulo M.; Alencar, Ane. 2010. Comment on the incidence of fire in Amazonian forests with implications for REDD. Science. Vol: 330. Pages 1627-b.
Journal Article Bowman, David; Balch, Jennifer K.; Artaxo, Paulo; Bond, William J.; Carlson, Jean; Cochrane, Mark; D'Antonio, Carla M.; DeFries, Ruth S.; Doyle, John C.; Harrison, Sandy P.; Johnston, Fay; Keeley, Jon; Krawchuk, Meg A.; Kull, Christian; Marston, John B.; Moritz, Max A.; Prentice, I. Colin; Roos, Christopher; Scott, Andrew C.; Swetnam, Thomas W.; van der Werf, Guido; Pyne, Stephen J. 2009. Fire in the earth system. Science. Vol: 324. Pages 481-484.
Presentations Bowman, David. 2009. Pyrogeography. ", Association for Fire Ecology 4th International Fire Ecology & Management Congress, 1 December 2009 .
Journal Article Roos, Christopher; Bowman, David; Balch, Jennifer K.; Artaxo, Paulo; Bond, William J.; Cochrane, Mark; D'Antonio, Carla M.; DeFries, Ruth S.; Mack, Michelle C.; Johnston, Fay; Krawchuk, Meg A.; Kull, Christian; Moritz, Max A.; Pyne, Stephen J.; Scott, Andrew C.; Swetnam, Thomas W. 2014. Pyrogeography, historical ecology, and the human dimensions of fire regimes . Journal of Biogeography. Vol: 41. Pages 833-836.
"Pyrogeography and climate change (co-sponsored with KITP)" is project ID: 12299