SNAP: Finding smart planning solutions in the Southern Agricultural Growth Corridor of Tanzania: What does sustainable intensification look like?

Principal Investigators:

Felix Kamau, David Cleary, and Lucy Magembe

Current proposals to create development corridors in developing countries pose both risks and opportunities to smallholder farming and agricultural sustainability. These proposals have political support but have suffered from a lack of science and scenario analysis. The Southern Agricultural Growth Corridor of Tanzania SAGCOT corridors is one such place that could significantly alter the economics of all scales of farming and conservation in a large part of Tanzania, changing patterns of market access and land-use. There are risks: large-scale monoculture... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group15th—17th September 2014Participant List  
Working Group12th—15th May 2015Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

John Bangaj.nakei@sagcot.comSouthern Agricultural Growth Corridor of Tanzania
Tim Bodint_bodin@cargill.comCargill
Deborah Bossiod.bossio@cgiar.orgInternational Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT)
Matthew Brownmbrown@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Louise Buckleb3@cornell.eduCornell University
Anthony Chapotoa.chapoto@cgiar.orgConsultative Group on International Agriculture Research (CGIAR)
David Clearydcleary@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Tim Davenporttdavenport@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Evan H. Girvetzegirvetz@cgiar.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Bell'Aube Huinatobhouinato@wwftz.orgWorld Wildlife Fund
Jane Carter Ingramcingram@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Reuben Kadigirmjkadigi@suanet.ac.tzSokoine University of Agriculture
Felix Kamaufkamau@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Japeth Kashaigilijkashaigili@gmail.comSokoine University of Agriculture
Christopher Lambechristopher.lambe@mosaicco.comMosaic Company
Emma Liwengaliwenga@ira.udsm.ac.tzUniversity of Dar es Salaam, Institute of Resource Assessment
Mary MgonjaMMgonja@agra.orgAlliance for a Green Revolution in Africa (AGRA)
Audax Rukongedirector@ansaf.or.tzAgricultural Non-state Actors Forum (ANSAF)
Sara Scherrsscherr@ecoagriculture.orgEcoagriculture Partners
Dan Segand.segan@uq.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
Abdalla Shahabdalla.shah@iucn.orgInternational Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources
Rita Singhrita.sign@monsanto.comMonsanto Company
Erasmus TarimoAudrey.tarimo@gmail.comTanzania Wildlife Research Institute
Damaris KilakaThe Nature Conservancy
Lucy Magembelmagembe@TNC.ORGThe Nature Conservancy
Willie Mwaruvunda
Ravic NajbookInternational Center for Tropical Agriculture (CIAT)
Michael Nkonumichael.nkonu@iucn.orgInternational Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
Christine Tamctam@wwfafrica.orgWorld Wildlife Fund

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"SNAP: Finding smart planning solutions in the Southern Agricultural Growth Corridor of Tanzania: What does sustainable intensification look like?" is project ID: 12692