SNAPP: Poverty, Environmental Sustainability, and Regional Economic Development in the Central Appalachian Coalfields

Principal Investigators:

Judy Dunscomb, Mark G. Anderson, Rob Baldwin, and Randall Jackson

The Appalachian coalfields of Kentucky, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia currently support millions of acres of intact forest lands that are resilient to climate change and contribute significantly to the connectedness of habitats across the eastern United States. In addition, approximately 2.4 million acres of former forest lands that have been or are being surface mined offer significant opportunities for carbon sequestration. At the same time, the coalfields are among the most impoverished areas in the US, and much of the region relies... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group30th May—1st June 2018Participant List  
Working Group6th—7th February 2019Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Mark G. Andersonmanderson@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Danna Baxleydanna.baxley@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Joshua Billsjbills@maced.orgThe Mountain Association for Community Economic Development (MACED)
Barry L. CookBarry.L.Cook@wv.govWest Virginia Divsion of Forestry
Brandon Dennisonbdennison@coalfield-development.orgCoalfield Development Corporation
Cliff Drouetcdrouet@osmre.govOffice of Surface Mining Reclamation and Enforcement
Judy Dunscombjdunscomb@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Elizabeth EngelElizabeth.engel@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Leslie Ferguson-Olesleslie@maced.orgThe Mountain Association for Community Economic Development (MACED)
Emily FlemingEmily.J.Fleming@wv.govWest Virginia Division of Natural Resources
Randall Jacksonrandall.Jackson@mail.wvu.eduWest Virginia University
Joey Jamesjjames@downstreamstrategies.comDownstream Strategies
Linda Lobaolobao.1@osu.eduOhio State University
David W. McGilldmcgill@wvu.eduWest Virginia University
Jensen Montambaultjmontambault@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Campbell Moorecampbell.moore@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
William Normanwnorman@clemson.eduClemson University
Thomas Ochuodhothomas.ochuodho@uky.eduUniversity of Kentucky
Sally Palmerspalmer@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Herb Petitjeanherb.petitjean@ky.govKentucky Energy and Evironment Cabinet
Terry Polenterry.l.polen@wv.govWest Virginia Department of Environmental Protection
Matthew Wendermwender@cwv.netThe West Virginia Community Development Hub
Elizabeth Wheatleyewheatley@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Marilyn Wrennmwrenn@coalfield-development.orgCoalfield Development Corporation
Brad J. Krepsbkreps@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"SNAPP: Poverty, Environmental Sustainability, and Regional Economic Development in the Central Appalachian Coalfields " is project ID: 12781