SNAPP: Enhancing Indigenous and Gender Inclusive Conservation Across Melanesia and Beyond

Principal Investigators:

Paige West, and Robyn James

Academics, including indigenous academics, have examined conservation and development from various theoretical perspectives. Their findings are often not presented in a form that is useful for, or even accessible to, many conservation NGOs, nor are they accessible to indigenous peoples and local communities directly involved in conservation who themselves hold critical local knowledge. Our project aims to move the findings of critical indigenous, race and feminist theory outside the university and into everyday conservation practice for the first... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group21st—23rd May 2019Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Hokulani Aikauh.aikau@utah.eduUniversity of Utah
Jonh Ainiailan.awareness@gmail.comAilan Awareness
Jonah Cardillojonah.cardillo@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Maria Estradamaria.estrada@TNC.ORGThe Nature Conservancy
Adriana Garriga LopezAdriana.Garriga-Lopez@kzoo.eduKalamazoo College
Jamon Halvakszjamon.halvaksz@utsa.eduUniversity of Texas, San Antonio
Hi'ilei J. Hobarthjh2120@columbia.eduColumbia University
Robyn Jamesrjames@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Stacy D. Jupitersjupiter@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Tarcisius Kabutaulakatkabutau@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Manoa
Ruth Koniarkonia@TNC.ORGThe Nature Conservancy, Papua New Guinea
Madlyn Lagusu Eromadlyn.ero@TNC.ORGThe Nature Conservancy
Cynthia Malonecmalone@amnh.orgAmerican Museum of Natural History
Sangeeta Mangubhaismangubhai@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Allison Martinallison_martin@TNC.ORGThe Nature Conservancy
Barbara Masike-Liribmasike@TNC.ORGThe Nature Conservancy, Papua New Guinea
Alexander Mawyermawyer@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Manoa
Cynthia Nakozoetec.d.nakozoete@TNC.ORGThe Nature Conservancy
Tiara R. Na'putitiara.naputi@colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Miriam Supumamiriam.supuma@gmail.comPapua New Guinea Institute of Biological Research
Magdalene Taramtara@TNC.ORGThe Nature Conservancy
Paige Westcw2031@columbia.eduBarnard College

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"SNAPP: Enhancing Indigenous and Gender Inclusive Conservation Across Melanesia and Beyond" is project ID: 12795