SNAPP: Operationalizing climate resilience in marine fisheries management

Principal Investigators:

Katherine Mills, Kristin Kleisner , and Patrick Sullivan

Marine fisheries provide income, jobs, and nutrition for millions of people globally. Warming temperatures, acidification, and deoxygenation associated with climate change are influencing the productivity and distribution of many marine species that support fisheries. The nature of these impacts and how they affect the health of fish stocks and flows of benefits is mediated by the management context within which fisheries operate. Most fishery management systems use historical experiences to guide management. We contend that effective fisheries... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group24th—28th February 2020Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Vera N. Agostinivera.agostini@fao.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Edward H. Allisoneha1@uw.eduUniversity of Washington
Manuel Barangemanuel.barange@fao.orgFood and Agricultural Organization (FAO)
Lyall Bellquistlyall.bellquist@TNC.ORGThe Nature Conservancy
Merrick Burdenmburden@edf.orgEnvironmental Defense Fund
Mark Dickey-CollasMark.dickey-collas@ices.dkInternational Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES)
George Freduahgfreduah@usc.edu.auUniversity of the Sunshine Coast
Chris Freecfree14@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Whitney Friedmanfriedman@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Christopher Goldengolden@hsph.harvard.eduHarvard University
Roger Griffisroger.b.griffis@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Anne B. HollowedAnne.Hollowed@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Gaku Ishimuragakugaku@iwate-u.ac.jpIwate University
Kristin Kleisnerkkleisner@edf.orgEnvironmental Defense Fund
Jacqueline Laujacqueline.lau@jcu.edu.auJames Cook University
Julia Masonjmason@edf.orgEnvironmental Defense Fund
Timothy R. McClanahantmcclanahan@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society Kenya
Katherine Millskmills@gmri.orgGulf of Maine Research Institute
Gretta Peclgretta.pecl@utas.edu.auUniversity of Tasmania
Claudio Silvaclaudio.silva@pucv.clPontificia Universidad Católica de Valparaíso
Rich Stedmanrcs6@cornell.eduCornell University
Patrick Sullivanpjs31@cornell.eduCornell University
Kanae Tokunagaktokunaga@gmri.orgGulf of Maine Research Institute
Jono R. Wilsonjono_wilson@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"SNAPP: Operationalizing climate resilience in marine fisheries management" is project ID: 12810