SNAPP: Addressing the impacts of sarcoptic mange in wild South American Camelids across a landscape of myths and legends

Principal Investigators:

Christian Walzer

Mange infections threaten the health and well-being of wildlife, livestock, domestic animals and humans, contributing to significant economic losses. Sarcoptic mange is a global disease caused by the mite Sarcoptes scabiei. In multiple species large population declines and local extirpation has occurred. In the 1960s the vicuña was critically endangered. In 1964, only 5-10,000 vicuñas remained in Peru, due to hunting and competition with domestic cattle. CITES legislation in the 1970s, and the creation of national protected areas, led to the... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group16th—17th April 2020Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Fabian BeltranfBeltran@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Paul Crosspcross@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Brandie Farissbrandie.fariss@TNC.ORGThe Nature Conservancy
Ana Gallegosagallegos@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Kaitlyn Gaynorgaynor@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Alynn Martinalynnmartin@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Jose Menajmena@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Mariana Montoyammontoya@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Steven Smithsteve.smith@vetmeduni.ac.atVetmeduni Vienna
Robert Wallacerwallace@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Christian Walzercwalzer@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"SNAPP: Addressing the impacts of sarcoptic mange in wild South American Camelids across a landscape of myths and legends " is project ID: 12819