Comparing trophic structure across ecosystems (Extended)

Principal Investigators:

Jonathan B. Shurin, Daniel S. Gruner, and Helmut Hillebrand

Trophic structure, the partitioning of biomass among organisms at different positions in a food web, varies both within and among ecosystems. However, the causes of this variation are poorly understood. Elton's "pyramid of numbers", where primary producers dominate and consumer densities decrease as trophic levels become more remote from the base of production, applies well to most terrestrial systems. However, many aquatic ecosystems apparently violate Elton's rule with inverted biomass pyramids, or ratios of heterotroph-to-autotroph biomass (H:A)... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group30th April—4th May 2007Participant List  
Working Group10th—14th December 2007Participant List  
Working Group8th—12th September 2008Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Benjamin Bolkerbolker@mcmaster.caUniversity of Florida
Elizabeth T. Borerborer@umn.eduOregon State University
Matthew E.
Bradley J. Cardinalebradcard@umich.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Just Cebrianjcebrian@disl.orgUniversity of South Alabama
Elsa E. Clelandecleland@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Kathryn L. Cottinghamkathryn.cottingham@dartmouth.eduDartmouth College
Daniel S. Grunerdsgruner@umd.eduUniversity of California, Davis
W. Stanley Harpoleharpole@iastate.eduUniversity of California, Irvine
Jacqueline T. Ngaingai@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Stuart A. Sandinssandin@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Eric Seabloomseabloom@umn.eduOregon State University
Jonathan B. Shurinjshurin@ucsd.eduUniversity of British Columbia
Jennifer E. Smithsmithj@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Elizabeth M. Wolkovichwolkovich@fas.harvard.eduDartmouth College
James H. Brownjhbrown@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Claire de Mazancourtclaire.demazancourt@mcgill.caMcGill University
James J. Elserj.elser@asu.eduArizona State University
Helmut Hillebrandhelmut.hillebrand@icbm.deUniversity of Cologne
Melinda D. Smithmelinda.smith@yale.eduYale University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProduct of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Borer, Elizabeth T.; Bracken, Matthew E.; Seabloom, Eric; Smith, Jennifer E.; Cebrian, Just; Cleland, Elsa E.; Elser, James J.; Fagan, William F.; Gruner, Daniel S.; Harpole, W. Stanley; Hillebrand, Helmut; Kerkhoff, Andrew J.; Ngai, Jacqueline T. 2013. Global biogeography of autotroph chemistry: Is insolation a driving force?. Oikos. Vol: 122. Pages 1121-1130. (Online version)
"Comparing trophic structure across ecosystems (Extended)" is project ID: 11981