Landscape and population connectivity

Principal Investigators:

Carlos Carroll, and Erica Fleishman

Conservation area design (CAD) is being used by many landscape-scale conservation efforts in western North America to establish geographic priorities and to raise awareness within the scientific, practitioner, and lay communities of the importance of critical areas. However, CAD techniques currently cannot evaluate factors that allow species and their resources to persist over time. These factors include land-cover connectivity and the resilience of reserve networks to ecological processes such as fire. Several new methods for CAD are emerging that... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group12th—16th March 2007Participant List  
Working Group17th—19th July 2008Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Mar Cabezacabeza@mappi.helsinki.fiMetapopulation Research Group
Carlos Carrollcarlos@klamathconservation.orgKlamath Center for Conservation Research
Ellen I. Damschendamschen@wisc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Frank W. Davisfrank.davis@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jeff Dunkjdunk@fs.fed.usUSDA Forest Service
John Fayjohn.fay@duke.eduDuke University
Erica Fleishmanefleishman@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Lee Hannahl.hannah@conservation.orgUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Matthias Leumleu@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Brad H. McRaebmcrae@tnc.orgUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Atte Moilanenatte.moilanen@helsinki.fiUniversity of Helsinki
Barry R. Noonbrnoon@cnr.colostate.eduColorado State University
Steven Phillipsphillips@research.att.comAT&T Labs-Research
Robert Presseybob.pressey@jcu.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
Steven R. Schillsschill@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Fiona Schmiegelowfiona.Schmiegelow@afhe.ualberta.caUniversity of Alberta
Nathan H. Schumakerschumaker.nathan@epa.govUS Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Gary Taborgary@largelandscapes.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Dean Urbandeanu@duke.eduDuke University
Paul Beierpaul.beier@nau.eduNorthern Arizona University
Heini Kujalaheini.kujala@helsinki.fiUniversity of Helsinki
Theresa Nogeiretnogeire@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Dan Segand.segan@uq.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
David M. Theobalddavid_theobald@nps.govColorado State University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Landscape and population connectivity" is project ID: 12024