Towards a unified theory of biodiversity

Principal Investigators:

Andrew P. Allen, Jessica L. Green, Stephen P. Hubbell, and Pablo A. Marquet

This proposal will support the efforts of an interdisciplinary group of ecologists, physicists and mathematicians to unify three areas of theoretical ecology that have advanced rapidly over the past decade: metabolic scaling theory, neutral biodiversity theory, and spatial macroecology theory. These theories have all yielded quantitative predictions that show striking agreement with patterns observed in nature. Furthermore, all three theories derive predictions based on the same postulate that biodiversity is largely controlled by universal principles... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group22nd—24th October 2007Participant List  
Working Group21st—23rd May 2008Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Andrew P. of California, Santa Barbara
Jayanth Banavarbanavar@psu.eduPennsylvania State University
James H. Brownjhbrown@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Jennifer A. Dunnejdunne@santafe.eduSanta Fe Institute
Brian J. Enquistbenquist@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
James F.
Patty Gowatygowaty@eeb.ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Jessica L. Greenjlgreen@uoregon.eduUniversity of California, Merced
John Hartejharte@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Stephen P. Hubbellshubbell@eeb.ucla.eduUniversity of California, Los Angeles
Amos Maritanmaritan@pd.infn.itPadova University
Pablo A. Marquetpmarquet@bio.puc.clUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
James O'Dwyerjodwyer@uoregon.eduUniversity of Oregon
Jordan G. Okiejokie@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Annette Ostlingaostling@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan
Mark Ritchiemeritchi@syr.eduSyracuse University
Van M. Savagevsavage@ucla.eduHarvard University Indonesia Program
Igor Volkovigor.volkov@gmail.comPennsylvania State University
Geoffrey B. Westgbw@santafe.eduSanta Fe Institute
Tommaso Zilliotommaso.zillio@afhe.ualberta.caUniversity of Alberta
T. Jonathan Daviesj.davies@mcgill.caUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Jeffrey K. Lakelakejk@umich.eduMichigan State University
Carlos J. Meliancarlos.melian@eawag.chUniversity of California, Santa Barbara

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Keymer, Juan E.; Fuentes, Miguel A.; Marquet, Pablo A. 2008. Diversity emerging: From competitive exclusion to neutral coexistence in ecosystems. Theoretical Ecology. Vol: 5(3). Pages 457-463. (Online version)
Journal Article Marquet, Pablo A.; Allen, Andrew P.; Browne, James; Dunne, Jennifer A.; Enquist, Brian J.; Gillooly, James F.; Gowaty, Patty; Green, Jessica L.; Harte, John; Hubbell, Stephen P.; O'Dwyer, James; Okie, Jordan G.; Ostling, Annette; Ritchie, Mark; Storch, David; West, Geoffrey B. 2014. On theory in ecology. BioScience. Vol: 64(8). Pages 701-710.
Journal Article O'Dwyer, James; Green, Jessica L. 2010. Field theory for biogeography: A spatially explicit model for predicting patterns of biodiversity. Ecology Letters. Vol: 13. Pages 87-95. (Online version)
Journal Article Ostling, Annette. 2012. Do fitness-equalizing tradeoffs lead to neutral communities?. Theoretical Ecology. Vol: 5. Pages 181-194. (Online version)
"Towards a unified theory of biodiversity" is project ID: 12061