Options for reforming the California nearshore finfish fishery

Principal Investigators:

Christopher Costello, Chuck Cook, and Erica Fleishman

This initiative will test academic theories and principles associated with co-management and dedicated access with data reflecting the realities of California’s nearshore finfish fisheries. The goal of the analysis and process is to achieve a fishery that is both ecologically sustainable and economically profitable. We will bring together leading fishermen who are permitted in the nearshore finfish fishery, managers from resource agencies, staff of nongovernmental organizations, and academic researchers. The group will create a collaborative pathway... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group2nd—2nd August 2007Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Tom Barnestom.barnes@noaa.govCalifornia Department of Fish and Game
Drew Bohandrew.bohan@resources.ca.govCalifornia Resources Agency
Kate Bonzonkbonzon@environmentaldefense.orgEnvironmental Defense Fund
Mark H. Carrcarr@biology.ucsc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Cruz
John Colgatej.gate@cox.netUnknown
Chuck Cookccook@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Christopher Costellocostello@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Carrie Culverc_culver@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Erica Fleishmanefleishman@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Steven D. Gainesgaines@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Tom Hafersomethingsfishy@charter.netUnknown
Kenyon Henselkhensel@charter.netUnknown
Ray Hilbornrayh@uw.eduUniversity of Washington
Chris Hoeflingercrhfam@verizon.netUnknown
Bill Jameshalibutbill@msn.comUnknown
Hunter S. Lenihanlenihan@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Alec D. MacCallalec.maccall@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
Sonke Mastrupsmastrup@dfg.ca.govCalifornia Department of Fish and Game
John M. Melackmelack@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Peter Nelsonpanelson@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Maggie Ostdahlmostdahl@environmentaldefense.orgEnvironmental Defense Fund
Carrie Pomeroycmpomeroy@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California Sea Grant Extension Program
Margaret Springmspring@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Johanna Thomasjthomas@environmentaldefense.orgEnvironmental Defense Fund
James Wilenwilen@primal.ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Jono R. Wilsonjono_wilson@tnc.orgUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Debra Wilson-Vandenbergdwilsonv@dfg.ca.govCalifornia Department of Fish and Game
Kate Wingkate.wing@moore.orgNatural Resources Defense Council

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Options for reforming the California nearshore finfish fishery" is project ID: 12129