Potential role of contaminants in declines of pelagic organisms in the Upper San Francisco Estuary, California

Principal Investigators:

Erica Fleishman

In late 2004, scientists noted that abundance indices of several pelagic fishes in the upper San Francisco Estuary (delta smelt, age-0 striped bass, longfin smelt, and threadfin shad) had remained unusually low since 2001. Delta smelt is an endemic species listed as threatened under both the California and U.S. Endangered Species Acts. Protection of delta smelt often determines water management actions in the estuary, which supplies drinking water to more than 22 million people and supports a multi-billion dollar agricultural industry. The abundance... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group21st—25th January 2008Participant List  
Meeting19th—19th June 2008Participant List  
Working Group2nd—5th September 2008Participant List  
Working Group2nd—5th February 2009Participant List  
Working Group8th—11th September 2009Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Marjorie L. Brooksmlbrooks@siu.eduUniversity of Wyoming
Larry R. Brownlrbrown@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Mike Connormikec@sfei.orgSan Francisco Estuary Institute
James I. Dreverdrever@uwyo.eduUniversity of Wyoming
Richard Dugdalerdugdale@sfsu.eduSan Francisco State University
Erica Fleishmanefleishman@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Peggy W. Lehmanplehman@water.ca.govCalifornia Department of Water Resources
Sam Luomasnluoma@ucdavis.eduUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Carys L. Mitchelmoremitchelm@cbl.umces.eduUniversity of Maryland Center for Environmental Science
Anke Mueller-Solgeramueller@water.ca.govCalifornia Department of Water Resources
Thomas L. O'Hallorantohalloran@sbc.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Daniel Schlenkdaniel.schlenk@ucr.eduUniversity of California, Riverside
Nathaniel L. Scholznathaniel.scholz@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
David M. Stomsstoms@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Swee Tehsjteh@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Peter Van Veldvanveld@vims.eduCollege of William and Mary
Inge Werneriwerner@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Michael L. Johnsonmbjohnson@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
David Krolickdkrolick@ecorpconsulting.comECORP Consulting, Inc.
Tracy Colliertracy.k.collier@noaa.govNOAA, Northwest Fisheries Science Center
Alex E. Parkeraeparker@sfsu.eduSan Francisco State University
Suzanne van Drunicksuzanne.vandrunick@colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
James Sickmanjames.sickman@ucr.eduUniversity of California, Riverside
Noble Hendrixnhendrix@r2usa.comR2 Resource Consultants, Inc.
Jim R. Thomsonjim.thomson@sci.monash.edu.auMonash University
Frances P. Wilkersonfwilkers@sfsu.edu

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Brooks, Marjorie L.; Fleishman, Erica; Brown, Larry R.; Lehman, Peggy W.; Werner, Inge; Scholz, Nathaniel L.; Mitchelmore, Carys L.; Lovvorn, James R.; Johnson, Michael L.; Schlenk, Daniel; van Drunick, Suzanne; Drever, James I.; Stoms, David M.; Parker, Alex E.; Dugdale, Richard. 2012. Life histories, salinity zones, and sublethal contributions of contaminants to pelagic fish declines illustrated with a case study of San Francisco Estuary, California, USA. Estuaries and Coasts. Vol: 35. Pages 603-621. (Online version)
Data Set Johnson, Michael L. 2010. POD!_National Pollution Discharge Elimination System_Delta Discharge_1999-2007. (Online version)
Journal Article Scholz, Nathaniel L.; Fleishman, Erica; Brown, Larry R.; Werner, Inge; Johnson, Michael L.; Brooks, Marjorie L.; Mitchelmore, Carys L.; Schlenk, Daniel. 2012. A perspective on modern pesticides, pelagic fish declines, and unknown ecological resilience in highly managed ecosystems. BioOne. Vol: 62(4). Pages 428-434. (Online version)
"Potential role of contaminants in declines of pelagic organisms in the Upper San Francisco Estuary, California " is project ID: 12198