The role of niche conservatism in producing biodiversity gradients

Principal Investigators:

Howard V. Cornell, Susan P. Harrison, and Christy M. McCain

Species diversity at broad spatial scales increases most strongly with productivity (terrestrial realm) and temperature (marine realm). The reason for such global-scale trends is still unknown. Ecological mechanisms operate locally and therefore appear inadequate to explain why these patterns are strongest at the largest geographic scales. Our goal is to test a novel evolutionary/historical hypothesis - the climatic "niche-conservatism" hypothesis - which postulates that more species inhabit more productive or warmer environments because most higher... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group17th—20th October 2008Participant List  
Working Group5th—7th March 2009Participant List  
Working Group5th—8th November 2009Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

David D. Ackerlydackerly@berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Andrew P. University
Brian L. Anackerblanacker@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Howard V. Cornellhvcornell@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Ellen I. Damschendamschen@wisc.eduWashington University in St. Louis
T. Jonathan Daviesj.davies@mcgill.caUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
John A. Grytnesjohn.grytnes@bot.uib.noUniversity of Bergen
Susan P. Harrisonspharrison@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis
Bradford A. Hawkinsbhawkins@uci.eduUniversity of California, Irvine
Nathan J.B. Kraftnkraft@umd.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Christy M. McCainchristy.mccain@colorado.eduUniversity of Colorado, Boulder
Charles Mittercmitter@umd.eduUniversity of Maryland, College Park
Robert E. Ricklefsricklefs@umsl.eduUniversity of Missouri, St. Louis
Kaustuv Roykroy@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Patrick R. Stephensprsteph@uga.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
John University of New York (SUNY)
Lauren B. Buckleylbuckley@uw.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Robert D. Holtrdholt@ufl.eduUniversity of Florida
Ginger Juiginger.jui@gmail.comUniversity of California, Berkeley
Jerome Mathieujerome.mathieu@snv.jussieu.frUniversity of California, Santa Barbara

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Buckley, Lauren B.; Davies, T. Jonathan; Ackerly, David D.; Kraft, Nathan J.B.; Harrison, Susan P.; Anacker, Brian L.; Cornell, Howard V.; Damschen, Ellen I.; Grytnes, John A.; Hawkins, Bradford A.; McCain, Christy M.; Stephens, Patrick R.; Wiens, John. 2010. Phylogeny, niche conservatism and the latitudinal diversity gradient in mammals. Proceedings of the the Royal Society B. Vol: 277(1691). Pages 2131-2138.
Journal Article Hawkins, Bradford A.; McCain, Christy M.; Davies, T. Jonathan; Buckley, Lauren B.; Anacker, Brian L.; Cornell, Howard V.; Damschen, Ellen I.; Grytnes, John A.; Harrison, Susan P.; Holt, Robert D.; Kraft, Nathan J.B.; Stephens, Patrick R. 2012. Different evolutionary histories underlie congruent species richness gradients of birds and mammals. Journal of Biogeography. Vol: 39(5). Pages 825-841. (Online version)
Journal Article Mathieu, Jerome; Davies, T. Jonathan. 2014. Glaciation as an historical filter of below-ground biodiversity. Journal of Biogeography. Vol: 41(6). Pages 1204-1214.
Journal Article Wiens, John; Ackerly, David D.; Allen, Andrew P.; Anacker, Brian L.; Buckley, Lauren B.; Cornell, Howard V.; Damschen, Ellen I.; Davies, T. Jonathan; Grytnes, John A.; Harrison, Sandy P.; Hawkins, Bradford A.; Holt, Robert D.; McCain, Christy M.; Stephens, Patrick R. 2010. Niche conservatism as an emerging principle in ecology and conservation biology. Ecology Letters. Vol: 13. Pages 1310–1324.
"The role of niche conservatism in producing biodiversity gradients" is project ID: 12208