INTEROP: Creation of an international virtual data center for the biodiversity, ecological and environmental sciences

Principal Investigators:

Matthew B. Jones, William K. Michener, and Kathleen K. Smith

Under this project we will develop new community capacity and new technologies to support the design, implementation, and deployment of a Virtual Data Center (VDC) for biodiversity, ecological and environmental data—all founded on open standards and protocols for interoperability among existing and new data centers. We will design a reliable infrastructure that enables open, stable, persistent, robust, and secure access to well-described and logically organized biodiversity, ecological and environmental data. The system will consist of a virtual... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group13th—15th January 2009Participant List  
Working Group10th—12th February 2009Participant List  
Working Group16th—18th February 2010Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Suzanne Lorraine Allardsallard@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee, Knoxville
Bob Cookcookrb@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
Duane Costadcosta@lternet.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Mike Framemike_frame@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS)
Stephanie E. Hamptons.hampton@wsu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Matthew B. Jonesjones@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Hilmar Lapphlapp@nescent.orgDuke University
William K. Michenerwilliam.michener@gmail.comUniversity of New Mexico
Mark Servillamark.servilla@gmail.comUniversity of New Mexico
Kathleen K. Smithkksmith@duke.eduDuke University
David A. Vieglaisvieglais@ku.eduUniversity of Kansas
Todd Visiontjv@bio.unc.eduUniversity of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Bruce Wilsonwilsonbe@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
Patricia Crusepatricia.cruse@ucop.eduUniversity of California, Office of the President
Vivian B. Hutchisonvhutchison@usgs.govUS Geological Survey (USGS) Western Fisheries Research Center
Steve Kellingstk2@cornell.eduCornell University
Carol Tenopirctenopir@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee, Knoxville
Paul Allenpea1@cornell.eduCornell University
Nick Brandbrand@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Roger Dahldahl@unm.eduUniversity of New Mexico
Michael Daigledaigle@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Timothy DiLaurotimmo@jhu.eduJohns Hopkins University
Jim Greenjgreen@iiaweb.comUnknown
Jeff Horsburghjeff.horsburgh@usu.eduUtah State University
Carl Lagozeclagoze@gmail.comCornell University
Giri Palanisamypalanisamyg@ornl.govOak Ridge National Laboratory
Robert Sanduskysandusky@uic.eduUniversity of Illinois
Ryan Scherlerscherle@nescent.orgDuke University
Robert P. Waltzrwaltz@utk.eduUniversity of Tennessee, Knoxville

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"INTEROP: Creation of an international virtual data center for the biodiversity, ecological and environmental sciences" is project ID: 12370