Limited-information fisheries management

Principal Investigators:

Christopher Costello

Effective and efficient fisheries management is often limited by available information and the high cost of collecting detailed fisheries data. Information gaps and management challenges often exist, for example, with regard to assessing stock size and dynamics, the spatial distribution of harvest given particular policies, and monitoring and enforcement of bycatch standards. This workshop, organized by the Sustainable Fisheries Group at UCSB, seeks to develop analytical innovations to deal with these challenges, with the goals of improving fishery... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group8th—10th June 2009Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Richard B. Allenrballen@cox.netEnvironmental Defense Fund
Ragnar Arnasonragnara@hi.isUniversity of Iceland
Kristin Cardencarden@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Christopher Costellocostello@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Robert Deacondeacon@econ.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Patty Debenhampattydebenham@gmail.comEnvironmental Defense Center
Rod Fujitarfujita@edf.orgEnvironmental Defense Fund
Steven D. Gainesgaines@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Corbett A. Graingergrainger@econ.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Theodore Grovestgroves@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Ray Hilbornrayh@uw.eduUniversity of Washington
Kristen T. Honeykhoney@stanford.eduStanford University
Larry Karpkarp@are.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Brian P. Kinlankinlan@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Hunter S. Lenihanlenihan@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Sarah E. Lesterlester@msi.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
John Lynhamlynham@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Mānoa
Alec D. MacCallalec.maccall@noaa.govNOAA, National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS)
John M. Melackmelack@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Frank MerryGordon and Betty Moore Foundation
Lars J. Olsonlolson@arec.umd.eduUniversity of Maryland, College Park
Ana Maria Parmaparma@cenpat.edu.arCentro Nacional Patagónico (CENPAT)
Jeremy Princejeremy@biospherics.com.auMurdoch University
Diane Regasdregas@ed.orgEnvironmental Defense Fund
Wolfram Schlenkerwolfram.schlenker@columbia.eduColumbia University
Andrew Solowasolow@whoi.eduWoods Hole Oceanographic Institution
George Sugiharagsugihara@ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Gil Sylviagil.sylvia@oregonstate.eduOregon State University
Quinn Weningerweninger@iastate.eduIowa State University
Kate Wingkate.wing@moore.orgNatural Resources Defense Council

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProduct of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Costello, Christopher; Rassweiler, Andrew; Siegel, David A.; De Leo, Giulio; Micheli, Fiorenza; Rosenberg, Andrew A. 2010. Marine Reserves Special Feature: The value of spatial information in MPA network design. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences. Vol: 107(43). Pages 18294-18299. (Online version)
"Limited-information fisheries management" is project ID: 12381