Human impacts of water infrastructure on watershed ecosystems and the sustainability of irrigated agriculture in the coterminous US

Principal Investigators:

John L. Sabo, Laura C. Bowling, and Gerrit H. Schoups

The goal of the proposed working group is twofold: 1) to measure the ecological footprint of freshwater infrastructure in the US (e.g., dams, irrigated agriculture, growing urban centers), and 2) to identify sustainable solutions to potential water shortages given climate change and rapid growth of major US urban areas. The underlying approach includes synthesis of numerous publicly available datasets describing surface and groundwater hydrology, human population growth, agriculture, economics and ecology. The approach also includes a novel analysis... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group27th—29th June 2011Participant List  
Working Group8th—9th October 2011Participant List  
Working Group10th—13th December 2011Participant List  
Working Group20th—23rd June 2012Participant List  
Working Group9th—11th April 2013Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Laura C. Bowlingbowling@purdue.eduPurdue University
John S. Kominoskijkominoski@gmail.comUniversity of Georgia
Jennifer Roathjroath@purdue.eduPurdue University
John L. Sabojohn.l.sabo@asu.eduArizona State University
Gerrit H. Schoupsgerrit.schoups@gmail.comDelft University of Technology
Tushar Sinhatsinha@ncsu.eduNorth Carolina State University
Sankur ArumugamSankar_Arumugam@ncsu.eduNorth Carolina State University
Noah Diffenbaughdiffenbaugh@stanford.eduStanford University
Caitlin Dyckmancdyckma@clemson.eduClemson University
William L. Grafgrafw@gwm.sc.eduUniversity of South Carolina
Michael HanemannMichael.Hanemann@asu.eduArizona State University
Kenneth E. Kunkelkekunkel@ncsu.eduCooperative Institute for Climate and Satellites (CICS) and National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's (NOAA) National Climatic Data Center (NCDC)
Robert Langrobert.lang@unlv.eduUniversity of Nevada, Las Vegas
Brian Richterbrichter@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Stuart Sweeneysweeney@geog.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Laura O. Taylorlaura_taylor@ncsu.eduNorth Carolina State University
Wesley W. Wallenderwwwallender@ucdavis.eduUniversity of California, Davis

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProducts of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Graf, William L.; Wohl, Ellen E.; Sinha, Tushar; Sabo, John L. 2010. Sedimentation and sustainability of western American reservoirs. Water Resources Research. Vol: 46. Pages 1-13. (Online version)
Journal Article Sabo, John L.; Sinha, Tushar; Bowling, Laura C.; Schoups, Gerrit H.; Wallender, Wesley W.; Campana, Michael E.; Cherkauer, Kieth A.; Fuller, Pam L.; Graf, William L.; Hopmans, Jan W.; Kominoski, John S.; Taylor, Carissa; Trimble, Stanley W.; Webb, Robert H.; Wohl, Ellen E. 2010. Climate Change and Water in Southwestern North America Special Feature: Reclaiming freshwater sustainability in the Cadillac Desert. Vol: 107. Pages 21263-21269. (Online version)
"Human impacts of water infrastructure on watershed ecosystems and the sustainability of irrigated agriculture in the coterminous US" is project ID: 12444