Advancing theory and research on scientific synthesis

Principal Investigators:

John N. Parker, and Edward J. Hackett

We propose a working group to advance theoretically-grounded, empirical study of scientific collaborations designed to achieve synthesis. Synthesis is the integration of diverse theories, methods and data across spatial or temporal scales, scientific phenomena, and forms of expertise to increase the generality, parsimony, applicability, or empirical soundness of scientific explanations. It generates emergent explanations beyond the scope of any one discipline, dataset or method. It counterbalances scientific specialization, capitalizes on existing... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group20th—22nd April 2012Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Stefano Allesinasallesina@uchicago.eduUniversity of Chicago
Winslow Burlesonwinslow.Burleson@asu.eduArizona State University
Beatrice Cronabeatrice.crona@stockholmresilience.su.seStockholm University
Jonathon N Cummingsjonathon.cummings@duke.eduDuke University
Edward J. Hackettehackett@asu.eduArizona State University
Stephanie E. Hamptons.hampton@wsu.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Peter Kareivapkareiva@ioes.ucla.eduThe Nature Conservancy
Erin Leaheyleahey@email.arizona.eduUniversity of Arizona
Craig R. McClaincmcclain@nescent.orgNational Evolutionary Synthesis Center (NESCent)
John N. Parkerjohn.parker@asu.eduArizona State University
Bart Pendersb.penders@maastrichtuniversity.nlMaastricht University
Ismael Rafolsi.rafols@sussex.ac.ukUniversity of Sussex
Niki Vermeulennikivermeulen@gmail.comUniversity of Manchester
Ann Zimmermanasz@umich.eduUniversity of Michigan

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Advancing theory and research on scientific synthesis" is project ID: 12647