SNAP: Planning for the impacts of land-­uses on coral reef fisheries and livelihoods under different climate scenarios

Principal Investigators:

Carissa J. Klein, Christopher J. Brown, and Hugh P. Possingham

About half of the world’s population lives near the sea. An increase in coastal population and economic development (e.g., agriculture, fishing) has led to increased pressures on coastal and marine natural resources. This problem is pervasive across the globe, with examples from developed nations like Australia where human activities have caused a 20-50% decline in coral cover on the Great Barrier Reef over the past two decades, to developing nations like India where over 40% of mangroves have been converted to agriculture or urban development.... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group23rd—25th July 2014Participant List  
Working Group1st—1st October 2014Participant List  
Working Group12th—15th April 2015Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Simon Alberts.albert@uq.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
Ken Anthonyanthony@aims.gov.auAustralian Institute of Marine Science
Michael Bodebodem@unimelb.edu.auUniversity of Melbourne
Christopher J. Brownchris.brown@griffith.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
Steven D. Gainesgaines@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Benjamin S. Halpernhalpern@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Richard Hamiltonrhamilton@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Kendall Joneskendall.jones@uqconnect.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
Stacy D. Jupitersjupiter@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Carissa J. Kleinc.klein@uq.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
John Lynhamlynham@hawaii.eduUniversity of Hawaii, Mānoa
Joseph Maina Mbuij.mbui@uq.edu.auWildlife Conservation Society
Peter J. Mumbyp.j.mumby@uq.edu.auUniversity of Exeter, Cornwall
Joanna Nelsonjoanna.nelson@stanford.eduStanford University
Hugh P. Possinghamh.possingham@uq.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
Vivitskaia J. Tullochv.tulloch@uq.edu.auUniversity of Queensland
James Watsonjwatson@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Crow Whitecwhite31@calpoly.eduCalifornia Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
Alexa Fredstonfredstonhermann@umail.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Hsien-Yung Linhsienyung.lin@uq.net.auUniversity of Queensland
Sangeeta Mangubhaismangubhai@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Lida Tenevalteneva@conservation.orgConservation International
Amelia WegnerAmelia.Wenger@my.jcu.edu.auJames Cook University

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"SNAP: Planning for the impacts of land-­uses on coral reef fisheries and livelihoods under different climate scenarios" is project ID: 12686