SNAPP: Agriculture, Food Production and Forest Conservation in Sub-Saharan Africa

Principal Investigators:

Phil Franks

Food demand in Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA) is projected to triple between 2010 and 2050. Historically, increased food production in SSA has been achieved more through expansion of area than increasing yields, and expansion of crop land has been largely at the expense of forests and woodlands. Conversion of forests to agriculture is the primary driver of deforestation in many countries in SSA and is likely to continue for longer and at higher rates than currently projected. In other words, there are disconnects within and between sectoral policies and... more

Participants and Meetings

ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group2nd—5th October 2017Participant List  
Working Group15th—18th April 2018Participant List  
Working Group24th—26th September 2018Participant List  
Working Group28th—30th March 2019Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Barbara Adolphbarbara.adolph@iied.orgInternational Institute for Environment and Development
Ezra Berkhoutezraberkhout@protonmail.comNetherlands Environmental Agency
Jin-ho Chungjinho.chung59@gmail.comInternational Institute for Environment and Development
Tom Evanstevans@wcs.orgWildlife Conservation Society
Phil Franksphil.franks@iied.orgInternational Institute for Environment and Development
Tagel Gebrehiwottagelgebrehiwot@gmail.comEthiopian Development and Research Institutute
Xiaoting Hou-Jonesxiaoting.hou.jones@iied.orgInternational Institute for Environment and Development
Habtemariam Kassah.kassa@cgiar.orgCenter for International Forestry Research
Lucy Magembelmagembe@TNC.ORGThe Nature Conservancy
Peter Minanga.minang@cgiar.orgWorld Agroforestry Center
Jensen Montambaultjmontambault@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Jacob Mwitwajacob.mwitwa@gmail.comCopperbelt University
Dora Neinadneina@gmail.comUniversity of Ghana
Hambulo Ngomahambulo.ngoma@iapri.org.zmIndaba Agricultural Policy Research Institute
Peter O'Harapeterohara@participatorynrm.com
Unai Pascualunai.pascual@bc3research.orgBasque Centre for Climate Change
Dilys Roedilys.roe@iied.orgInternational Institute for Environment and Development
Casey Ryancasey.ryan@ed.ac.ukUniversity of Edinburgh
Marieke SassenMarieke.Sassen@unep-wcmc.orgWageningen University
Seth Shamessshames@ecoagriculture.orgEcoagriculture Partners
Tim Thomastim.thomas@cgiar.orgInternational Food Policy Research Institute
Joseph Tobiasj.tobias@imperial.ac.ukImperial College, London
Bhaskar Virabhaskar.vira@geog.cam.ac.ukUniversity of Cambridge
Monica Zurekmonika.zurek@eci.ox.ac.ukUniversity of Oxford
Florence Agyei Marteyfagyei@yahoo.co.ukGhana Environmental Protection Agency
Rachel Carmentarc730@cam.ac.ukUniversity of Cambridge
Albert Katakoalbert.katako@gmail.comCivic Response
Charles Meshackcmeshack@tfcg.or.tzTanzania Forest Conservation Group
Melanie Ryanmelryan@wwfint.orgUniversity of Cambridge
Yigremachew SeyoumYigremachew.Seyoum@fao.orgFood and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
Anne M. Trainoranne.trainor@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy Africa
Lungu Obedolungu@unza.zmUniversity of Zambia

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"SNAPP: Agriculture, Food Production and Forest Conservation in Sub-Saharan Africa" is project ID: 12768