Serengeti: The origins and future of a complex ecosystem (Extended)

Principal Investigators:

Craig Packer

The Serengeti ecosystem exemplifies a number of general features of terrestrial food web dynamics and can therefore be viewed as a model system for studying a complex interplay of basic ecological principles. These include: (1) the diverse roles of generalist top predators in governing coexistence in prey communities, (2) the importance of omnivory and intraguild predation in modulating the magnitude of 'top-down' impacts of predators, (3) trophic cascades; (4) the implications of movement, landscape pattern, and spatial heterogeneity for food web... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group27th October—1st November 2003Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Peter A. Abramspeter.abrams@utoronto.caUniversity of Toronto
Christopher Costellocostello@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michael B. Coughenourmikec@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Andrew P. Dobsondobber@princeton.eduPrinceton University
John M. Fryxelljfryxell@uoguelph.caUniversity of Guelph
Kathy Galvinkathy@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Ray Hilbornrayh@uw.eduUniversity of Washington
Robert D. Holtrdholt@ufl.eduUniversity of Florida
Grant Hopcraftgranthopcraft@fzs.orgFrankfurt Zoological Society
Samuel McNaughtonsjmcnaug@mailbox.syr.eduSyracuse University
Charles Mlingwatawiri@habari.co.tzTanzania Wildlife Research Institute
Han Olffh.olff@biol.rug.nlUniversity of Groningen/Rijksuniversiteit Groningen
Craig Packerpacker@biosci.umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Stephen Polaskypolasky@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Mark Ritchiemeritchi@syr.eduSyracuse University
Anthony R. E. Sinclairsinclair@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Serengeti: The origins and future of a complex ecosystem (Extended)" is project ID: 7362