Serengeti: The origins and future of a complex ecosystem (Extended)

Principal Investigators:

Craig Packer

At a third NCEAS meeting, we would finalize the chapters for Serengeti III and keep to a schedule whereby we submitted our manuscript to Chicago Press by Jan. 2004. The first Serengeti books were well regarded in their time, but Serengeti III will be one of the most innovative studies of a single ecosystem ever written. Every chapter forms an integral part of a unified approach to the study of complex ecosystem, starting with soils, working through plants, herbivores and carnivores. And at every level, we fully explore the feedback loop with... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group27th October—1st November 2003Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Peter A. Abramspeter.abrams@utoronto.caUniversity of Toronto
Christopher Costellocostello@bren.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Michael B. Coughenourmikec@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Andrew P. Dobsondobber@princeton.eduPrinceton University
John M. Fryxelljfryxell@uoguelph.caUniversity of Guelph
Kathy Galvinkathy@nrel.colostate.eduColorado State University
Ray Hilbornrayh@uw.eduUniversity of Washington
Robert D. Holtrdholt@ufl.eduUniversity of Florida
Grant Hopcraftgranthopcraft@fzs.orgFrankfurt Zoological Society
Samuel McNaughtonsjmcnaug@mailbox.syr.eduSyracuse University
Charles Mlingwatawiri@habari.co.tzTanzania Wildlife Research Institute
Han Olffh.olff@biol.rug.nlUniversity of Groningen/Rijksuniversiteit Groningen
Craig Packerpacker@biosci.umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Stephen Polaskypolasky@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota
Mark Ritchiemeritchi@syr.eduSyracuse University
Anthony R. E. Sinclairsinclair@zoology.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

This working group has no products yet.
"Serengeti: The origins and future of a complex ecosystem (Extended)" is project ID: 7362