Conservation priorities: Can we have our biodiversity and ecosystem services too?

Principal Investigators:

Peter Kareiva, Gretchen Daily, Stephen Polasky, and Taylor Ricketts

The delineation of biodiversity hotspots that protect as many species as possible with as little land as possible has been the dominant paradigm in conservation science. Recently, however, this paradigm has been challenged on two accounts. The first challenge is that the burgeoning human population will make it impossible to adequately secure biodiversity in "protected areas", and that instead we must turn to working landscapes with substantial human use as places of biodiversity value. Second, with so much of the world impoverished, there is... more

Participants and Meetings

A group photo is coming soon.
ActivityDatesFurther Information
Working Group26th—29th September 2005Participant List  
Working Group21st—23rd February 2006Participant List  
Working Group23rd—27th April 2007Participant List  

Participant Contact Information

Paul R. Armsworthp.armsworth@sheffield.ac.ukUniversity of Sheffield
Andrew Balmfordapb12@cam.ac.ukUniversity of Cambridge
Kai M.A. Chankaichan@ires.ubc.caUniversity of British Columbia
Gretchen Dailygdaily@leland.stanford.eduStanford University
Tom Dillontom.dillon@wwfus.orgWorld Wildlife Fund
Qun Duqdu@whu.edu.cnThe Nature Conservancy
William F. Faganbfagan@glue.umd.eduUniversity of Maryland
Kathleen Farleykfarley@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Jixi Gaogaojx@craes.org.cnChinese Research Academy of Environment Sciences
Michael Heinermheiner@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
David Hulsedhulse@macfound.orgJohn D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation
Peter Kareivapkareiva@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Bernhard LehnerWorld Wildlife Fund
Li Lifenglfli@wwfchina.orgWorld Wildlife Fund, China
Jack Liujliu@panda.msu.eduMichigan State University
Robin Naidoorobin.naidoo@wwfus.orgWorld Wildlife Fund
Stephen Polaskypolasky@umn.eduUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Ye Qiyqi@tnc.org.cnThe Nature Conservancy
Taylor RickettsTaylor.Ricketts@uvm.eduWorld Wildlife Fund
James N. Sanchiricojsanchirico@ucdavis.eduResources for the Future
M. Rebecca Shawrshaw@edf.orgStanford University
Paul Westpwest@tnc.orgUniversity of Wisconsin
Kate Braumankbrauman@umn.eduStanford University
Jeffrey Cammjeff.camm@uc.eduUniversity of Cincinnati
Richard M. Cowlingrmc@kingsley.co.zaUniversity of Port Elizabeth
Emma E. Goldbergeeg@uic.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Joshua Goldsteinjoshuag@stanford.edu
Claire Kremenckremen@nature.berkeley.eduUniversity of California, Berkeley
Russell Landerlande@biomail.ucsd.eduUniversity of California, San Diego
Eric Lonsdorfericlonsdorf@lpzoo.orgLincoln Park Zoo
Heike K. Lotzeheike.lotze@dal.caDalhousie University
William W. Murdochmurdoch@lifesci.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Erik Nelsonenelson2@bowdoin.eduUniversity of Minnesota, Twin Cities
Jim Regetzregetz@nceas.ucsb.eduUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Andrew Solowasolow@whoi.eduWoods Hole Oceanographic Institution
Boris Wormbworm@dal.caDalhousie University
Wiktor L. AdamowiczVic.Adamowicz@ales.ualberta.caUniversity of Alberta
Juliann E. Aukemajaukema@gmail.comUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Neil Burgessneil.burgess@wwfus.orgUnknown
D. Richard Camerondcameron@tnc.org
Holly DavisHdavis@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Andy Drummadrumm@tnc.orgThe Nature Conservancy
Guillermo Mendozagmendoza@stanford.eduUnknown
Belinda Morrisbmorris@tnc.org
Pantaleo Munishipmunishi2001@yahoo.comSokoine University of Agriculture
Matthieu Rougetmr451@cam.ac.ukUniversity of Cambridge
Heather Tallishtallis@tnc.orgStanford University
Christine Tamctam@wwfafrica.orgStanford University
Barton H. Thompsonbuzzt@law.stanford.eduStanford University
Sue Whitesue.white@cranfield.ac.ukCranfield University
Bart Wickelbart.wickel@wwfus.orgWorld Wildlife Fund

Products: Publications, Reports, Datasets, Presentations, Visualizations

TypeProduct of NCEAS Research
Journal Article Nelson, Erik; Mendoza, Guillermo; Regetz, Jim; Polasky, Stephen; Tallis, Heather; Cameron, D. Richard; Chan, Kai M.A.; Daily, Gretchen; Goldstein, Joshua; Kareiva, Peter; Lonsdorf, Eric; Naidoo, Robin; Ricketts, Taylor; Shaw, M. Rebecca. 2009. Modeling multiple ecosystem services, biodiversity conservation, commodity production, and tradeoffs at landscape scales. Frontiers in Ecology and the Environment. Vol: 7(1). Pages 4-11.
"Conservation priorities: Can we have our biodiversity and ecosystem services too?" is project ID: 8200